Published: Oct. 27, 2022

The annual Fall Convocation Awards and Presentations Celebrating Faculty Achievements on Oct. 13, 2022, honored 95 faculty members for their excellence in teaching, scholarship, leadership and service. Faculty recently tenured or promoted and faculty receiving the Provost's Achievement Award were recognized.

Vice Provost Michele Moses and the Office of Faculty Affairs hosted this annual awards ceremony, in coordination with Chancellor Philip DiStefano and Provost Russell Moore, who opened the event with welcoming remarks.

Below is a list of this year's awardees.

Provost’s Faculty Achievement Awards

Pre-tenure faculty

Eleanor Browne, Chemistry, for her paper “Effect of heterogeneous oxidative aging on light absorption by biomass-burning organic aerosol” and accompanying short video

Sherri Cook, Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering, for her article “Drivers of sustained sanitation access: social network and demographic predictors of latrine reconstruction after flooding disasters”

Rafael Frongillo, Computer Science, for his article “Elicitation complexity of statistical properties”

Adam Holewinski, Chemical and Biological Engineering, for his article “Selective Interactions between Free-Atom-like d-States in Single-Atom Alloy Catalysts and Near-Frontier Molecular Orbitals”

Edward Vincent Taylor, Education, for his co-authored chapter “Multiple Ways of Knowing: Re-Imagining Disciplinary Learning” in the Handbook of the Cultural Foundations of Learning

Post-tenure faculty

Mimi Engel, Education, for her project on fostering important academic, social, emotional, language and self-regulatory skills among all students, resulting in the journal article “Kindergarten in a Large Urban District”

Philip Fernbach, Business, for his series of papers representing a program of research on knowledge overconfidence, extremism and the community of knowledge.

Paul Romatschke, Physics, for his body of work on the subject of relativistic viscous hydrodynamics and co-authored book Relativistic Fluid Dynamics In and Out of Equilibrium: And Applications to Relativistic Nuclear Collision

Douglas Spencer, Law, for his project on voting rights and redistricting, resulting in the law review article “Models, Race, and the Law”

Julia Staffel, Philosophy, for her three articles for a new project in epistemology that challenges established theories about the nature of human reasoning

Faculty receiving tenure

  • Chunmei Ban, Mechanical Engineering
  • Agnès Beaudry, Mathematics
  • Samuel L. Boyd, Religious Studies
  • Melissa L. Braaten, Education
  • Jed Brown, Computer Science
  • Jed R. Brubaker, Information Science
  • Lijun Chen, Computer Science
  • Joëlle M. Cruz, Communication
  • Zoe R. Donaldson, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology & Psychology and Neuroscience
  • John Andrew Evans, Aerospace Engineering Sciences
  • Casey Fiesler, Information Science
  • Ian Grooms, Applied Mathematics
  • Eve-Lyn S. Hinckley, Environmental Studies
  • Mija H. Hubler, Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering
  • Bethy Leonardi, Education
  • Benjamin Levin, Law
  • Ben Livneh, Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering
  • Henry B. Lovejoy, History
  • Ann-Marie Madigan, Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences
  • Robert A. Marshall, Aerospace Engineering Sciences
  • Tomoko Matsuo, Aerospace Engineering Sciences
  • Samira K. Mehta, Women and Gender Studies
  • Irina Overeem, Geological Sciences
  • Dennis V. Perepelitsa, Physics
  • Andrew Q. Philips, Political Science
  • David Requiro, Music
  • Nancy Rodríguez, Applied Mathematics
  • Erin E. Schauster, Advertising, Public Relations and Media Design
  • Julio C. Sepúlveda, Geological Sciences
  • Sandeep Sharma, Chemistry
  • Scott Skinner-Thompson, Law
  • Joel Swanson, Herbst Program for Engineering, Ethics & Society
  • Scott A. Taylor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Brian Valente-Quinn, French & Italian
  • Stephen Voida, Information Science
  • Philip Bradley White, University Libraries
  • Majid Zamani, Computer Science

Faculty promoted to full professor

  • Alaa A. Ahmed, Mechanical Engineering
  • Joanna Arch, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Tiffany R. Beechy, English
  • Loriliai Biernacki, Religious Studies
  • Carew Elizabeth Boulding, Political Science
  • Sebastian Casalaina-Martin, Mathematics
  • Aaron Clauset, Computer Science
  • Justin Desautels-Stein, Law
  • Scot Douglass, Herbst Program for Engineering, Ethics & Society
  • Robin Dowell-Deen, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
  • Joel Eaves, Chemistry
  • Marissa A. Ehringer, Integrative Physiology
  • Katja Friedrich, Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
  • Harsha Gangadharbatla, Advertising, Public Relations and Media Design
  • Ryan Gardner, Music
  • Leila Gómez, Women and Gender Studies
  • Jean Hertzberg, Mechanical Engineering
  • Deborah R. Hollis, University Libraries
  • Chris Long, University Libraries
  • Kevin Mahan, Geological Sciences
  • Christy McCain, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Merinda McLure, University Libraries
  • Bhuvaneswari Narasimhan, Linguistics
  • Erika Randall, Theatre and Dance
  • Dmitry Reznik, Physics
  • John-Michael Rivera, English
  • Paul Romatschke, Physics
  • Wilson Smith, Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Michael Stowell, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
  • Evan Thomas, Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering
  • Edward Van Wesep, Business
  • Clare Wang, Business
  • Jeffrey York, Business
  • Phoebe S. K. Young, History

Faculty hired with tenure

  • Alixandra Barasch, Business
  • Joseph J. Berry, Physics
  • Amit Bhattacharjee, Business
  • Jason A. Burdick, Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Luca Corradini, Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering
  • Scott A. Diddams, Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering
  • Dejun “Tony” Kong, Business
  • Glen S. Krutz, Political Science
  • S. N. Nyeck, Ethnic Studies
  • Omedi Ochieng, Communication
  • Michael Pappas, Law
  • Thomas Pegelow Kaplan, History
  • Christophe Spaenjers, Business
  • Nathalie M. Vriend, Mechanical Engineering