Published: July 28, 2021

CU Boulder Provost Russell Moore has named the members of the committee to conduct a national search for a new dean for the College of Arts and Sciences. The dean of Arts and Sciences is the primary administrative position within the college and reports directly to the provost. 

“This search will be the first of four dean positions, with the remaining three being the deans of arts and humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences,” said Moore. “Each of those deans, while having increased authority and responsibility around budget, resources, personnel and participating in the provost's council of deans, will report directly to the dean of the college.”

Provost Russell Moore

The dean of the college will be responsible for ensuring interdisciplinary work within and across the college, provide strategic direction in collaboration with the deans and ensure administrative support for the college, Moore said.

Moore also named Sharon Matusik, dean of the Leeds School of Business and professor of strategy and entrepreneurship, to head the search committee and provide leadership and direction throughout the search process.

The committee will begin meeting in mid-August. Other members of the search committee include Arts and Sciences faculty and staff, as well as an undergraduate student, a graduate student and a representative from the community.

Members of the Arts and Sciences dean search committee include:

  • Rebecca Allison, program manager for ALTEC; Arts and Sciences Staff Advisory Committee
  • Francisca Antman, associate professor of economics
  • Tiffany Beechy, associate professor of English; Boulder Faculty Assembly chair
  • Irene Blair, professor and chair of psychology and neuroscience
  • Lily Board, assistant dean for academic advising and student success
  • Andy Cowell, professor of linguistics
  • Jack Damico, professor and chair of speech, language, and hearing sciences
  • Zoe Donaldson, assistant professor of behavioral neuroscience
  • Susan Hallstead, senior instructor of Spanish and Portuguese
  • Paula Hildebrandt, chair, Arts and Sciences Dean's Advisory Board
  • Keith Julien, professor and chair of applied mathematics
  • Kavya Kannan, undergraduate student
  • Ann-Marie Madigan, assistant professor of astrophysics
  • Dimitri Nakassis, professor and chair of classics
  • Scott Parker, professor of physics
  • Barra Peak, graduate student and Graduate and Professional Student Government president of administration
  • Jason Shelton, director of recruitment
  • Bernadette Stewart, assistant dean for administration
  • Levente Szentkirályi, instructor, Program for Writing and Rhetoric
  • Glenda Walden, senior instructor of sociology
  • Beverly Weber, associate professor of Germanic and Slavic languages and literatures

The reorganization of the College of Arts and Sciences, the university’s largest college, has been under discussion by the faculty at least since the fall of 2017, when a white paper submitted to the Academic Futures process proposed it. See the Sept. 2, 2020, message from Provost Moore for background information about the origins of the reorganization.

Moore plans to name a new dean by May 2022.