Published: Nov. 20, 2019

CU Boulder Provost Russell Moore has named the members of the search committee to conduct a national search for a new dean for the College of Engineering and Applied Science (CEAS) to succeed outgoing dean Bobby Braun. 

Braun announced on Sept. 30 he would leave his post in January 2020 to take an executive position at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory at Cal Tech. 

On Oct. 22, Moore named E. Scott Adler, dean of the Graduate School and vice provost for Graduate Affairs, to head the search committee. He also named Keith Molenaar, who currently serves as associate dean for research in CEAS, as interim dean effective upon Braun’s departure.

“This committee is representative of the diversity of people and disciplines within CEAS, and I am entrusting it, under the leadership of Dean Adler, to recommend finalists of national and global distinction to lead the college to its next great era of success,” Moore said. 

Adler said Moore will issue the formal charge to the committee at its first meeting with the goal of having finalists visit the campus in the spring semester. The provost plans to name a new dean by the close of the 2020 spring semester.

Search committee members include the following: 

  • Committee chair: E. Scott Adler, dean of the Graduate School and vice provost for graduate affairs
  • Ken Anderson, professor and chair, computer science
  • Tanya Ennis, director, BOLD Center
  • Amy Javernick-Will, associate professor, civil, environmental and architectural engineering 
  • John G. Lynch, distinguished professor and senior associate dean for faculty and research, Leeds School of Business
  • Shelly Miller, professor, mechanical engineering; Environmental Engineering Program
  • Charles Musgrave, professor, chemical and biological engineering
  • Scott Palo, professor, aerospace engineering sciences
  • Anika Rollock, graduate student, aerospace engineering sciences
  • Fernando Rosario-Ortiz, professor, civil, environmental and architectural engineering, and director, Environmental Engineering Program 
  • JoAnn Silverstein, professor, civil, environmental and architectural engineering, and associate dean for faculty affairs 
  • Robert D. Strain, president, Ball Aerospace 
  • Katherine Tobey, scholar in residence, Engineering Management Program
  • Matthew Young, assistant dean, advancement (CEAS)