Published: March 19, 2019

Do you know a student, faculty, staff, or alumni with a commitment to social justice and LGBTQ rights? The Chancellor’s Committee on Gender and Sexuality welcomes nominations of students, faculty, staff and alumni for the 2019 Tito Torres Award and Joanne Arnold Courage and Commitment Award.

Tito Torres Award

This award is given annually to a student at CU who exemplifies the spirit of Tito Torres. As a CU student, Torres impacted and uplifted many through his commitment to and work toward social justice. A $500 award to be used for educational purposes will be given to the student winner.

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. April 15.

Joanne Arnold Courage and Commitment Award

The purpose of this award is to support and recognize faculty, staff and alumni who embody the character and values of Joanne Arnold and have made similar contributions to the campus community with outstanding leadership and activism for LGBTQ rights. Her greatest contributions are those that inspire the community with her courage, good cheer, unflagging optimism and commitment to find justice for all.

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. April 22.

Any questions? Contact Rachel Kammen at or 303-492-7759.