Published: March 1, 2019

The Boulder Faculty Assembly is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 BFA Excellence Awards. These awards recognize outstanding contributions by faculty in the areas of teaching, service and leadership, and research and creative work.

If you go

Who: Faculty, staff, students
What: BFA Excellence Awards featuring faculty address by the 2018 Hazel Barnes winner, reception to follow
When: Tuesday, April 2, 4:30–7 p.m.
Where: University Memorial Center, Room 235
RSVP by March 26

The awards, which are peer-nominated, are presented in three categories:

  • Excellence in Leadership and Service
  • Excellence in Research, Scholarly and Creative Work
  • Excellence in Teaching and Pedagogy

See the 2019 recipients below.

Honoring this year’s winners, a ceremony on April 2 will feature a faculty address by 2018 Hazel Barnes Prize awardee Sarah Krakoff. A reception allowing for attendees to share personal congratulations with each of the award winners will follow. RSVPs are requested by March 26, but walk-up attendees are welcome.

The campus created the BFA Excellence Awards in the early 1980s to recognize outstanding work and concerted effort in advancing the mission of the university and the academy at large. All members of the Boulder faculty, including instructors, are eligible for nomination.

These prestigious awards are made possible through financial support from the chancellor, enabling the BFA to grant each recipient a $4,000 monetary award.

The Hazel Barnes Prize is the largest and most prestigious single faculty award funded by CU Boulder. It was established in 1991 by former Chancellor James Corbridge in honor of Philosophy Professor Emerita Hazel Barnes to recognize “the enriching interrelationship between teaching and research.”

Hazel Barnes, one of our campus’s most accomplished scholars, received a BFA Excellence in Teaching Award in 1983.

Excellence in Leadership and Service

  • Paul Beale, Physics
  • Erin Furtak, Education
  • Leslie Irvine, Sociology
  • Erika Randall, Theatre & Dance

Excellence in Research, Scholarly and Creative Work

  • John Cassano, Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
  • Russell Cropanzano, Business
  • Nan Goodman, English

Excellence in Teaching and Pedagogy

  • Priscilla Craven, French & Italian
  • Teresa Foley, Integrative Physiology
  • Jennifer Knight, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology