Published: Feb. 26, 2019

Jim White, interim dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, today announced the composition of the Interdisciplinary Teaching, Research and Creative Work committee, which he chairs. The committee will explore what the campus needs to effectively embrace interdisciplinarity in both education and scholarship.

“Interdisciplinarity is a theme that recurs strongly in the life of the CU Boulder campus,” said White. “It is a key recommendation of the Academic Futures Committee, the subject of a variety of Academic Futures white papers and of conversations within academic units and during last year’s town halls. I’m looking forward to the committee taking on a topic with such strong implications for our teaching, research and creative work.”

White said the campus “is at a watershed moment in which we can consider the full potential of interdisciplinary research while removing barriers to interdisciplinary teaching and creative work.”

“This is the right moment, and this committee has the right people, to take on these vital and exciting questions,” White said.

The committee will begin its work this spring and is expected to deliver its recommendations to campus on Sept. 1, 2019.

Committee members

Waleed Abdalati, Director, CIRES and Professor, Geography, College of Arts and Sciences

Max Boykoff, Associate Professor, ENVS/CIRES; Director, Center for Science and Technology Policy, Graduate School

Andrew Calabrese, Associate Dean of Graduate Programs and Research, Professor of Media Studies, CMCI

Meg Campbell, Provost Professor of Marketing, Leeds School of Business

Sharon Collinge, Professor, ENVS, College of Arts and Sciences

Jackie Elliott, associate professor and chair, Classics

Oliver Gerland, associate professor, Theatre & Dance; Honors RAP Director; Interim Director of the Humanities program

Larry Levine, Associate Vice Chancellor for IT and CIO, Office of Information Technology

Jana Milford, Professor, Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Stefanie Mollborn, Professor, Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences, and Fellow Health and Society Program, Institute of Behavioral Science

Valerie Otero, Professor, Math and Science Education, School of Education

Martha Palmer, Professor of Distinction, Linguistics, College of Arts and Sciences, and the Helen and Hubert Endowed Professor of Computer Science, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Kristin Powell, Director of Interdisciplinary Education, BioFrontiers Institute

Karen Regan, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation, RIO

Jennifer Sullivan, Senior Assistant Dean for Administration and Program Development, Colorado Law

Tamara Sumner, Director, Institute of Cognitive Science, Professor, Computer and Cognitive Science

Katharine Suding, Professor, EBIO/INSTAAR, College of Arts and Sciences

Evan Thomas, Associate Professor; Director, Mortenson Center in Global Engineering, College of Engineering & Applied Science

Heidi VanGenderen, Chief Sustainability Officer, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Infrastructure and Sustainability


Jim White, Interim Dean, Professor, Geological Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences

Ex Officio

Jeff Cox, Professor of English and Humanities, College of Arts and Sciences; former Vice Provost and Associate Vice Chancellor for Faculty Affairs; convener of Academic Futures

Emily CoBabe-Ammann, Director of Strategic Projects, RIO; facilitator of Academic Futures