Published: Feb. 21, 2019

Dean of Libraries Robert McDonald Thursday announced the composition of the Academic Futures/Financial Futures Online Strategy Working Group, commissioned on Jan. 25 by Provost Russ Moore and Senior Vice Chancellor Kelly Fox to develop a roadmap for campus that integrates recommendations from the Academic Futures and Financial Futures strategic initiatives.

The committee will take up its work immediately, working off of an online and distance learning philosophy statement (PDF) endorsed by Moore and based upon the recommendations of the Academic Futures Committee, the Academic Futures public engagement process (white papers, unit-level meetings, town halls) and conversations amongst the campus’s academic leadership. The committee will deliver its report to Moore and Fox in early May and the report will then be shared with the campus for comment and input. 

“I am pleased that we had such great response to our call for nominations and I look forward to getting this new working group off the ground,” said McDonald. “Having a direct connection between the Academic Futures and the Financial Futures initiatives on such an important topic for CU Boulder’s future is critical for its success.”

Working Group members

Chris Braider, Chair and Professor, French and Italian
College of Arts & Sciences

Donna Caccamise, Assoc. Dir./Assoc. Research Professor
Institute of Cognitive Science, Research & Innovation Office

Robert Erickson, Professor and Interim Chair of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering
College of Engineering and Applied Science

Orrie Gartner, Director of Operations

Karen Gebhardt, Director of Online Economics Programs, Economics
College of Arts & Sciences

Dirk Grunwald, Professor and Director of Applied Computer Science, Computer Science
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Lonni Pearce, Senior Instructor/Assoc. Director for First-Year Writing, Program for Writing and Rhetoric
College of Arts & Sciences

Emma Rinzler, student
Leeds School of Business

Geoffrey Rubinstein, Director of Online Learning
Division of Continuing Education

Jeremy Smith, Professor of Musicology
College of Music


Robert McDonald, Working Group Lead
Dean of University Libraries

Ex Officio

Jeff Cox, Professor of English and Humanities
College of Arts & Sciences
Former Vice Provost and Assoc. Vice chancellor for Faculty Affairs, convener of Academic Futures

Emily CoBabe-Ammann, Director of Strategic Projects
Facilitator of Academic Futures

Aisha Jackson, Associate Director of Tech Applications
Online workstream lead, Financial Futures