Published: Jan. 29, 2019

The annual memorial event will take place on campus at 9:39 a.m. Sunday, Feb. 3, to honor the astronauts who perished in the Challenger and Columbia disasters.

If you go

Who: Open to the public
What: Challenger Memorial
When: Sunday, Feb. 3, 9:39 a.m.
Where: Regent Administrative Center

The event will begin in front of the Regent Administrative Center. Air Force ROTC cadets will be conducting a silent march from there to the Columbia and Challenger memorials in Kittredge and to Col. Ellison Onizuka’s plaque by the Engineering Center. Onizuka, of the Challenger, was a member of CU’s AFROTC Detachment 105.

On Jan. 28, 1986, Francis R. Scobee, Michael J. Smith, Ronald McNair, Judith Resnik, Gregory Jarvis, Christa McAuliffe, and CU Boulder alumnus and Air Force ROTC Detachment 105 graduate Ellison Onizuka lost their lives in the Challenger disaster. 

The event will also honor those who perished during the Feb. 1, 2003, space shuttle Columbia mission: Rick D. Husband, William C McCool, Michael P. Anderson, David M. Brown, Laurel Clark, Ilan Ramon and Kalpana Chawla, who earned her PhD from CU Boulder.