Published: Oct. 27, 2017

Chancellor Philip P. DiStefano speaks at the annual State of the Campus

Chancellor Philip P. DiStefano speaks at the annual State of the Campus

A testament to the strength of CU Boulder’s research and academics, and elected by his peers—other chancellors and presidents—CU Boulder Chancellor Philip P. DiStefano has been named to the board of directors of the Association of American Universities (AAU).

AAU is an invitation-based membership organization of 62 research universities, designed to advance society through education, research and discovery. Its universities—60 in the U.S. and two in Canada—earn the majority of competitively awarded federal funding for academic research.

“As a lifelong educator, I’m especially pleased to be named to the board of this association of 62 distinguished universities that shape the future of higher education, science and innovation for the advancement of society,” said DiStefano, who also is a member of the AAU membership committee.

The 11-member AAU board is a governing body that proposes policy positions, adopts policies on behalf of members, approves the annual budget and works with the president and staff to carry out the association’s agenda.

CU Boulder is the only AAU member in the Rocky Mountain West.

AAU, of which CU Boulder became a member in 1966, is made up of both public and private universities, including Caltech; Harvard University; MIT; Stanford University; the University of California, Berkeley; the University of Southern California; the University of Wisconsin–Madison; Yale University and others.

According to its website, AAU members collectively help shape policy for higher education, science and innovation; promote best practices in undergraduate and graduate education; and strengthen the contributions of research universities to society.