Published: March 10, 2017


Recipients of the 2016 Distinguished Research Lectureship: Thomas T. Veblen of the Geography Department and David Korevaar of the College of Music

The Distinguished Research Lectureship is among the highest honors bestowed by the faculty upon a CU Boulder colleague. Each year, the Research & Innovation Office (RIO) requests nominations, and a faculty review panel recommends one faculty member as a recipient. Full details can be found on the RIO website.

The deadline for nominations is April 28. Nominations should be submitted online.

About the lectureship

The lectureship honors a tenured faculty member widely recognized for a distinguished body of academic or creative achievement and prominence, as well as contributions to the educational and service missions of CU Boulder.

The selection of the Distinguished Research Lecturer is based on the research and creative record of the nominee as presented in the nomination application and as recognized by experts in the field. 

The recipient typically presents a lecture in the fall or spring following selection and receives a $2,000 stipend.


Nominees for the Distinguished Research Lectureship must be: tenured members of the faculty who have been at CU Boulder for at least five years; recognized nationally/internationally for scholarship, research and creative work; and highly regarded for contributions to the University of Colorado and its reputation.

Nomination procedure

Any faculty member may submit a nomination to the vice chancellor for Research & Innovation. The nomination’s supporting materials include:

  • A statement (two to three pages) explaining the importance of the nominee’s research or creative work in his/her field and summarizing the research record,
  • A current record of the nominee’s accomplishments and
  • Three to five letters from experts outside CU Boulder (as well as inside letters if appropriate).

If an applicant is not a recipient, the submission will be in a pool of submissions for the following year. It may be appended as necessary before the next application deadline.

2016 lectureship recipients

Thomas T. Veblen of the Geography Department and David Korevaar of the College of Music were selected as recipients of the 2016 Distinguished Research Lectureship.

More than 300 people attended Korevaar’s performance lecture, "The score is alive...with the sound of music," on February 24 in Grusin Music Hall.

Veblen will deliver his lecture, “Wildfire regime shifts in Patagonian-Andean forest ecosystems: Feedbacks and consequences in the face of climate and land-use changes," at the University Memorial Center's Glenn Miller Ballroom on April 25 from 4 to 5 p.m. Registration is requested for this event; space is limited, so sign up now.

Questions? Please email