Published: Aug. 26, 2013

DOE news release

Washington, D.C. – The U.S. Department of Energy today announced the members of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB). The nineteen member board comprised of scientists, business executives, academics and former government officials will serve as an independent advisory committee to Energy Secretary Moniz.

“These individuals represent some of the best and brightest in their respective fields and it is a great privilege that they have agreed to offer their expertise to the Energy Department,” said Secretary Moniz. “Having a diverse set of voices around the table will ensure that the Department has a strategic approach to the nation’s energy, science, nuclear security, and environmental stewardship future.”

The Board will include four standing subcommittees that provide advice and recommendations to the Secretary on the Department's four major mission areas: science; energy; nuclear security; and environmental stewardship. Ad-hoc task forces, comprised of SEAB members and outside experts, will be formed to advise in specific areas directed by the Secretary. The duties of the Board are solely advisory.

SEAB reports directly to the Secretary of Energy. It was chartered in 1990 to provide the Secretary with timely, balanced, external advice on issues concerning the Department. The board is expected to meet quarterly and at other times as needed.

John Deutch and Persis Drell will serve as the Co-Chairs of SEAB.

Below is the list of SEAB Members:

Frances Beinecke     President, Natural Resources Defense Council

Rafael Bras     Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Georgia Institute of Technology

Albert Carnesale     Chancellor Emeritus and Professor, University of California, Los Angeles

John Deutch     MIT Chemist and Former Under Secretary of Energy

Persis Drell     Professor of Physics, Stanford University and Former Director, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Shirley Ann Jackson     President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Deborah Jin     Physicist, National Institute of Standards and Technology and Professor Adjoint for Physics at the University of Colorado Boulder. Jin also is a fellow of JILA, a joint institute of CU-Boulder and NIST.

Paul Joskow     President, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation and MIT Professor of Economics, Emeritus

Steve Koonin     Director, Center for Urban Science and Progress, New York University and Former Under Secretary for Science

Michael McQuade     Senior Vice President for Science and Technology, United Technologies Corporation

Richard Meserve     President, Carnegie Institution for Science and Former Chairman of the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Cherry Murray     Dean, Harvard University School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

John Podesta     Chair, Center for American Progress and Former White House Chief of Staff

Dan Reicher     Executive Director, Steyer-Taylor Center for Energy Policy and Finance, Professor, Stanford University and Former Assistant Secretary for Energy

Carmichael Roberts     General Partner, North Bridge Venture Partners

Martha Schlicher     Renewables and Sustainability Technology Lead, Monsanto Company

Brent Scowcroft     Retired U.S. Lieutenant General, Former National Security Advisor and President and Founder, Scowcroft Group

Ram Shenoy     Chief Technology Officer, ConocoPhillips

Daniel Yergin     Vice Chairman, IHS and Founder of IHS Cambridge Energy Research Associates

News Media Contact:

Deborah Jin (Photo by Glenn Asakawa/University of Colorado)