Published: Dec. 6, 2018

Published: Nov. 7, 2018

The annual Chancellor’s Employee of the Year Award is presented to CU Boulder staff in recognition of and appreciation for exceptional job performance and remarkable contributions to the campus community.

Recipients of this distinguished award join a rich heritage of past awardees who display outstanding performance, inspired leadership, extraordinary service to the campus and community and exceptional interpersonal skills. 

CU Boulder is filled with passionate and dedicated individuals who, day in and day out, shape tomorrow’s leaders, inspire innovation and positively impact humanity. Congratulations to the 2018 award recipients: Rosa Hernandez, Sarah Miller, Jonathan B. Sibray and Sharon Van Boven.

The award recipients will be honored at a private reception with Chancellor Philip P. DiStefano and guests. 

Read more on the other recipients here

Sharon Van BovenSharon Van Boven

Van Boven is the program coordinator in the Department of Theatre & Dance. She is highly regarded for her ability to understand the big picture while managing the smallest of details.

Van Boven served as the primary coordinator for the Northwest Region American College Dance Association (ACDA) festival in early 2018. Held on campus for the first time in more than a decade, the festival drew over 500 students and faculty to CU Boulder. For this extraordinary event, she oversaw a complex schedule of programming that included the creation of five adjudicated concerts, four days of guest artist classes, a faculty reception and the closing gala and dance.

Van Boven is described as being warm, gracious and an “ambassador for the arts, our students and CU.” One undergraduate student shared that she “always seems like she actually cares about the students and wants them to succeed.” She is recognized for having an indelible mark on the lives of students, faculty and staff, and for making the day-to-day operations of her department efficient, cooperative and full of mirth. 

6 Ladies facing front, Center is Sharon holding award

Ondine Geary, Peg Posnick, Stacy Witt, Sharon Van Boven, Stacy Norwood, Patricia "Pep" Paige after Sharon received her award at the ceremony Wednesday 12.5.18.