EBIO Grad Rep

Anna Paraskevopoulos

ebio.gradrep@colorado.edu

Attends faculty meetings and updates graduate students, updates grad students and recruits input on grad student issues to report to faculty. This is an annually elected position (Dec to Dec), anyone can run.


CTL Lead 

Jessica Rush (jessica.rush@colorado.edu)

This person promotes graduate teacher (TA & GTPI) training and professional development in EBIO, and serves as the department's representative for the Center for Teaching and Learning program (a division of the Graduate School).  This is a one-year, paid position primarily involves training by the GTP program, and conducting non-evaluative teaching consultations for graduate student TAs to help them improve their teaching skills.  


Colloquium

Brendan Hobart (brendan.hobart@colorado.edu), Aislyn Keyes (aislyn.keyes@colorado.edu), Aly Ennis (alyson.ennis@colorado.edu)

 
Meetings happen in the Spring Semester

This group decides on who gets invited to give guest lectures for this seminar series.  This is the largest committee in the department and there are many volunteer positions:  committee chairs, flight scheduler, hotel scheduler, reception prep, servers, etc.  Everything about this seminar series in organized by graduate students. 


Lunch and Learn
Gladiana Spitz, Heather Kenny-Duddela, Nicole Addison
Lunch and Learn calendar:  Wednesdays 12:20-1:10pm in Ramaley N240
 

This is EBIO’s informal seminar series.  Grad students, postdocs, faculty and guests are all welcome to share their research, travel photos, or present workshops for the benefit of department members.  Grad students who regularly attend can enroll for 1 credit.


EBIO Social Committee

Jessica Rush (jessica.rush@colorado.edu), Sam Ahler (sam.ahler@colorado.edu), Anna Paraskevopoulos (anna.paraskevopoulos@colorado.edu), Heather Kenny-Duddela (heather.kenny@colorado.edu)

In charge of organizing community-building events for the department including happy hours and coffee and bagels once a month.


EBIO Club Graduate Representatives

Megan Zabinski (megan.zabinski@colorado.edu), Peter Innes (peter.innes@colorado.edu)

This committee works with the Undergraduate Biology Club to provide opportunities for undergraduates to get engaged in the department beyond coursework.  The main event is the Grad-Undergrad Social that happens each spring, where all EBIO grad students are invited to recruit undergrads to work with them on their research.  The committee updates resources for this event each year, including grad student research blurbs and contact info. The committee also seeks to boost attendance for or create 2-3 additional events each year, including the fall faculty-undergraduate research social, campus-wide undergraduate recruitment events (e.g., the UROP symposium), and events to address other needs of undergraduates in the department (e.g., a career panel or job fair).


Working Groups Coordinator

Grant Vagle (grant.vagle@colorado.edu)

Organizes the working groups each Fall to update grad students and recruit volunteers for positions in the department, and also keeps this webpage and the reading group webpage current.


Bugslist Manager

Jesse Harris (jesse.c.harris@colorado.edu)

Helps grad students subscribe to and unsubscribe from this informal EBIO grad listserv 


IT representative

Grant Vagle (grant.vagle@colorado.edu)

This person works with the faculty budget committee to acquire software, primarily for bull pen computers and is also responsible for maintaining and updating the Graduate Student Handbook.  If you are need of a software program that you do not currently have access to, or see something that needs to be changed on the Graduate Student Handbook, talk to this person.


Evolution Outreach Committee (EOC)

Defunct. 

This group develops outreach events to improve the public’s understanding of evolution.  Some annual events include: Controversial Topics Teacher’s Workshop (with Climate Change Outreach) in early Fall, and Evolution Family day at the museum in early Spring.

Position Avilable: Members and leaders to re-start the group. Contact Chloe Garfinkel (Chloe.Garfinkel@colorado.edu) for more info on re-starting this group.


Climate Change Outreach
Defunct.
 
Past details: This group develops outreach events to improve the public’s understanding of topics related to climate change.  Some projects include: Controversial Topics Teacher’s Workshop (with Evolution Outreach), a weekend field trip at the Mountain Research Station for middle school students, and recruiting volunteers to judge at local youth science fairs.

Position Available: Needs someone with initiative to re-start. 


EBIO GPSG Representatives (Graduate and Professional Student Government)

No current representatives.

EBIO representatives attend GPSG meetings and communicate Graduate School and University level policies and issues to EBIO grad students.  

Position available!


Green Labs EBIO representatives

Contact Green Labs or visit this page for more info.

 

Works with Green Labs to develop departmental projects that improve energy efficiency, reduce research waste, etc.  This is a paid position and the time commitment is flexible.