FTEP Faculty Partners Honored


Boulder President's Teaching Scholars 2012

FTEP is pleased to recognize Boulder campus faculty members Noah Finkelstein and Harihar Rajaram, who have been honored as 2012 President’s Teaching Scholars for their lifetime in the CU academy.

Noah Finkelstein, Physics, has published more than 75 peer-reviewed articles since coming to CU in 2003. His previous accolades include the Outstanding Faculty Graduate Faculty Advising Award (2010), the Boulder Faculty Assembly Excellence in Teaching Award (2007), first place in the National Science Foundation (NSF)/Science Magazine’s International Science and Engineering Visualization Challenge (2007), an NSF CAREER Award (2005), and a current NSF award to build a Center for STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) Learning at CU. Finkelstein, a winner of CU’s Diversity and Excellence Award, leads an annual delegation of students at the National Association of Black and Hispanic Physicists conference. He earned his bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Yale University; his doctorate in applied physics from Princeton University.

Finkelstein, Noah


E-mail: finkelsn@Colorado.EDU


390 UCB

Harihar Rajaram, Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering, has published more than 50 peer-reviewed journal publications, and his research has been cited nearly 1,000 times, according to the Web of Science. Rajaram’s previous awards include the NSF CAREER award for integrating research and education in 1998 and the Charles Hutchinson Memorial College of Engineering Teaching Award from CU in 1999. Rajaram earned a bachelor’s degree in technology from the Indian Institute of Technology in Madras, India, and a master’s degree in science, civil and environmental research from the University of Iowa. He completed his doctorate in civil engineering at MIT.


Rajaram, Harihar

Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering

E-mail: hari@colorado.edu


428 UCB

Congratulations to Noah and Harihar!


Boulder Faculty Assembly Excellence Awards

The Faculty Teaching Excellence Program would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2011-2012 Boulder Faculty Assembly Excellence Awards for Excellence in Teaching:

Assistant Professor Oliver DeWolfe


Assistant Professor Myles Osborne


Professor Harihar Rajaram

Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering

Associate Professor Hanspeter Schaub

Aerospace Engineering


2012 Hazel Barnes Prize

Patrick Mason, a professor of voice at the University of Colorado Boulder’s College of Music, has been selected to receive the 2012 Hazel Barnes Prize. The prize is the highest faculty recognition for teaching and research awarded by the university.

The prize recognizes Mason’s prolific body of work in national and international concerts and in the recording studio, along with his exceptional research and teaching record as a CU-Boulder faculty member since 1993.


University of Colorado at Boulder CU Home CU Search CU A to Z Campus Map