BSA DemandsStatement from the Department of Women and Gender Studies on Anti-Black Racism on Campus

The Department of Women & Gender Studies stands in solidarity with the Black Student Alliance and all students of color that continue to be affected by the repercussions of the racist hate speech that was directed at Black students studying at the Engineering Center on Sunday, October 6th, 2019. We understand this act to be part of a larger social and systemic pattern of white supremacy in the United States, in Colorado, and on the University of Colorado Boulder campus. 
As a department and a discipline invested in the intersectional analysis of power, including its gendered and racialized dimensions, we recognize the pervasiveness of racist, sexist, homophobic, and transphobic hate speech to be indicative of a hostile and unsafe environment for Black students, students of color, women, and members of the LGBTQ community. As such, we support the specific demands of the Black Student Alliance, as detailed here: (click to enlarge)

The Department of Women and Gender Studies (WGST) faculty aim to foster students’ critical thinking skills in a learning environment that is supportive and challenging. In the workplace, the media, popular culture, politics, and even academia, we are confronted with stereotypes and one-dimensional representations of gender, race, class, nationality and sexuality. Accordingly, WGST faculty encourage students to critically engage with course materials and with the world around them, and we provide them tools to do so. We believe such skills are the prerequisites for enhancing the equality, dignity, and empowerment that we value.
Faculty research is an essential component in the educational experience of our undergraduates. WGST students receive instruction from faculty who are actively engaged in the creation of new knowledge and insights, not merely passive recipients of the work of others. Our faculty have been awarded research grants and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities, Fulbright, the National Science Foundation, and the United States Institute of Peace.


Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Fellowship for Diversity Program

The Department of Women and Gender Studies (WGST) welcomes applications for the Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Fellowship for Diversity Program. Applicants should begin the process by contacting a possible mentor among the WGST faculty as soon as possible. If the WGST faculty member agrees to consider mentorship, the applicant should send them a cover letter, reference contact information or reference letters (if available), curriculum vitae, project description, and writing sample by October 1. The WGST executive committee will consider applicant dossiers and make recommendations to the WGST faculty by October 15. Applicants will be advised of the department’s decision by October 18. The University of Colorado Boulder applicant deadline is November 1. Applicants whose research reflects our current hiring priorities—black studies and/or indigenous studies scholars with additional expertise in sexuality studies—will be given special consideration.

WGST Advising

Mara Vahratian

Office: University Club, Rm 204
Open Hours: Mondays 1-3pm
All advisor meetings are held in University Club, Rm 204.
Use MyCUHub to see current walk-in hours
and schedule individual appointments.

Visit the Cottage

The Hazel Gates Woodruff Cottage is one of the most historically significant structures on the CU Boulder campus today. Built as a women's dormitory in 1884, it is a symbol of the historical presence of women from its earliest days. This semester, the Cottage is open Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm.

First Women & Gender Studies program in Colorado

Established in 1974 as the Women Studies Program, it is also one of the oldest of its kind in the nation.

Founding home of Frontiers: A Journal of Women’s Studies

Founded in 1975, Frontiers is one of the oldest and most respected academic feminist journals in the United States.

Award-winning Faculty

Our core faculty include Professors of Distinction, and recipients of Best Should Teach award, Hazel Barnes prize, Kayden Book award and more.