Tom Blumenthal

Tom Blumenthal

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
My group does deep proteomic studies on blood from people with Down syndrome in order to discover what signaling protein alterations are responsible for the many phenotypes as well as their high level of variability.
Tom.Blumenthal@Colorado.EDU     303.492.7533
Robert Boswell

Robert Boswell

Professor • Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity and Community Engagement
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Currently serving as Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity and Community Engagement.
Robert.Boswell@Colorado.EDU     303.735.1332
Thomas Cech

Thomas Cech

Distinguished Professor • Nobel Laureate • Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
My research is on chromosome ends (telomeres) and their replication by telomerase.
Thomas.Cech@Colorado.EDU     303-492-8606
Zhe Chen

Zhe Chen

Assistant Research Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
My research aims to better understand the mechanisms that ensure the fidelity of neuronal receptor function and thus axon guidance.
Zhe.Chen@Colorado.EDU     303-492-5256
Edward Chuong

Edward Chuong

Assistant Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
The Chuong lab is interested in the evolution of gene regulation in adaptation and disease.
Shelley Copley

Shelley Copley

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Research in the Copley lab centers on the molecular evolution of catalysts and metabolic pathways.
Shelley.Copley@Colorado.EDU     303-492-6328
Corrie Detweiler

Corrie Detweiler

Associate Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
My lab studies how pathogenic bacteria evade and manipulate the mammalian immune system. We also study the related science of identifying and developing new antibacterials.
Corrie.Detweiler@Colorado.EDU     303-735-2956
Zoe Donalson

Zoe Donaldson

Assistant Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
My work explores the interplay between genes and environment, with special emphasis on the importance of social relationships in modulating mood and behavior.
Zoe.Donaldson@Colorado.EDU     303-735-8879
Robin Dowell Deen

Robin Dowell

Associate Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
My primary interest is in understanding transcriptional regulation: how does it work, evolve, and respond to perturbations?
Robin.Dowell@Colorado.EDU     303-492-8204
Robert Garcea

Robert Garcea

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
The Garcea laboratory studies the structure and assembly of small DNA viruses, with emphasis on polyoma and papillomaviruses.
Robert.Garcea@Colorado.EDU     303-492-1669
Larry Gold

Larry Gold

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
The Gold Lab today focuses on the utilization of biological and information technology to improve healthcare.
Nancy_Guild

Nancy Guild

Director of Introductory Undergraduate Education • Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Nancy.Guild@Colorado.EDU     303.492.5054
Min Han

Min Han

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Han lab has engaged dynamic research programs addressing important biological problems related to human diseases, primarily using C. elegans and mouse genetics.
Mhan@Colorado.EDU     303-492-2261
Andy Hoenger

Andy Hoenger

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
My main research interests are functional and structural analyses by 3-D cryo-electron microscopy of cytoskeletal assemblies and large macromolecular structures as well as cellular organelles.
Andreas.Hoenger@Colorado.EDU     303-735-0844
Kevin Jones

Kevin Jones

Associate Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
My laboratory studies the functions of neurotrophic factors in development and their relevance to neurodegenerative disease using a blend of transgenic mouse technology and anatomical, cell biological, and molecular techniques.
Krjones@Colorado.EDU     303-492-1363
Harald Junge

Harald Junge

Assistant Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Dr. Junge's laboratory integrates molecular and protein-biochemical methods, cell biology, mouse genetics and tissue analysis to understand the signaling pathways and developmental processes that mediate angiogenesis, vascular guidance and vascular quiescence.
Harald.Junge@Colorado.EDU     303-492-7499
Michael Klymkowsky

Mike Klymkowsky

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
My research focuses on the molecular mechanisms underlying mesoderm formation, and neural crest induction, and tissue and organ patterning. I also study how to design, assess, and effectively teach students to understand, appreciate, and make use of molecular biology.
Michael.Klymkowsky@Colorado.EDU     303-492-8508
Jenny Knight

Jenny Knight

Associate Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Dr. Knight's research has focused on developing concept assessments for student learning in biology, studying the impact of in-class work on student learning, and developing and measuring the impact of curricular changes and teacher training on both students and faculty.
Jennifer.Knight@Colorado.EDU     303-735-1949
Joel Kralj

Joel Kralj

Assistant Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Research in the Kralj lab focuses on creating new tools to study functions of molecules, cells, and organisms.
Joel.Kralj@Colorado.edu     303-492-2642
Ken Krauter

Ken Krauter

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Dr. Krauter's research focuses primarily on understanding the relationship between the human microbial composition and human development and disease.
Kenneth.Krauter@Colorado.EDU     303-492-6693
Leslie Leinwand

Leslie Leinwand

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
We conduct research on cardiac and skeletal muscle with emphasis on genetic diseases involving them.
Leslie.Leinwand@Colorado.edu     303-492-7606
David Mastronarde

David Mastronarde

Professor Attendant Rank • Sr Research Associate
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
I developed and maintain a suite of programs for analysis and visualization of electron microscopy tomograms.
Mast@Colorado.EDU     303-492-4350
Lee Niswander

Lee Niswander

Professor • Chair
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
The Niswander lab investigates mouse models of embryonic development to provide insights into fundamental developmental processes, major human birth defects and potential clinical therapies.
Lee.Niswander@Colorado.EDU     303.735.5928
Greg Odorizzi

Greg Odorizzi

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
My research investigates the molecular mechanisms of membrane trafficking from endosomes to lysosomes, which have a major role in protein degradation.
Odorizzi@Colorado.EDU     303-735-0179
William Old

William Old

Assistant Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Dr. Old is interested in the signaling networks that regulate cell growth and communication in multicellular organisms, and how defects in these networks drive cancer and neurodevelopmental disorders.
William.Old@Colorado.EDU     303-492-9551
Brad Olwin

Brad Olwin

Professor • Associate Chair
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Our research group is investigating the mechanisms that regulate skeletal muscle regeneration, focusing on skeletal muscle stem cells.
Bradley.Olwin@Colorado.EDU     303.492.6816
James Orth

James Orth

Associate Research Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Professor Orth studies cancer therapies at the molecular and cellular level.
James.Orth@Colorado.EDU     303-492-5057
Soyeon Park

Soyeon Park

Assistant Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Dr. Park's laboratory studies the biogenesis of a molecular machine known as the proteasome, a major protease in eukaryotes.
Soyeon.Park-1@Colorado.EDU     303-492-5707
Thomas Perkins

Tom Perkins

Professor Adjoint • Fellow & Chair, JILA
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
The Perkins group focuses on developing precision single-molecule techniques and applying them to answer a variety of biological questions.
TPerkins@Jila.Colorado.EDU     303-492-5391
Sara Sawyer

Sara Sawyer

Associate Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
The Sawyer lab studies viral immunity, viral evolution, and the transmission of viruses from animals to man.
ssawyer@Colorado.EDU     303-735-0531
Jingshi Shen

Jingshi Shen

Associate Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
The overarching goal of my group is to uncover the regulatory principles of vesicle-mediated cargo transport.
Jingshi.Shen@Colorado.EDU     303-492-6166
Ravinder Singh

Ravinder Singh

Associate Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Dr. Singh's laboratory studies post-transcriptional gene regulation.
Ravinder.Singh@Colorado.EDU     303-492-8886
Michael Stowell

Michael Stowell

Associate Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Our research is focused on molecular and supramolecular structures that facilitate communication between neurons at the chemical synapse and how such structures are perturbed in neurological disease.
Michael.Stowell@Colorado.EDU     303-735-2983
Tin Tin Su

Tin Tin Su

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Our goal is to understand how cells, tissues and organisms survive exposure to high energy radiation such as X-rays.
Tin.Su@Colorado.EDU     303-735-3245
Jonathan Van Blerkom

Jonathan Van Blerkom

Research Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
We are investigating why mitochondria located in the subplasmalemmal cytoplasm remain normal hypo-polarized and what affects this may have on certain elements of the he oolemma found to be essential for sperm docking and penetration.
Gia Voeltz

Gia Voeltz

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Our lab is studying how proteins generate the shape of the endoplasmic reticulum.
Gia.Voeltz@Colorado.EDU     303-492-3145

Dongmei Wang

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Dongmei.Wang@Colorado.EDU     303-735-4838
Ding Xue

Ding Xue

Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
Dr. Xue's research interests lie in studying the mechanisms of programmed cell death (or apoptosis), phospholipid asymmetry in biological membranes, mitochondrial inheritance, and radiation-induced bystander effects, as well as various human diseases associated with abnormalities in these fundamental biological processes.
Ding.Xue@Colorado.EDU     303-492-0271
Rui Yi

Rui Yi

Associate Professor
Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology
We are interested in the elucidation of gene expression regulatory networks controlled by transcription factors and miRNAs among others in mammalian skin development, stem cells and cancer.
Rui.Yi@Colorado.EDU     303-735-4886