The award recognizes outstanding service by faculty in the College of Engineering and Applied Science to the profession of engineering, the college, the university, and/or the citizens of the state of Colorado. Instructional, research, and tenured/tenure-track faculty are eligible. The award is named after its first recipient, Max S. Peters, former dean of the college and 1971 Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award recipient. 

The service may be professional, civic, or of other character. The contribution of the nominee should emphasize the individual’s concern for the common good, the willingness to give time, the understanding shown of others and their problems, the ability to draw together varied resources, and the innovative means used to solve these problems.

The award is presented annually and the winner receives a stipend of $2,000.

Nomination Procedures

  1. Nominations and supporting documentation should be returned to the associate dean for faculty advancement by the first Friday in November.
  2. A committee of three, appointed by the Associate Dean for Faculty Advancement, will review all nominations and recommend an award recipient to the dean.
  3. Award will be given at the college faculty and staff reception in December.

Making a Nomination

Option 1

Submit a BFA Excellence in Service nomination or the nomination materials prepared previously for a similar recognition. The previous nomination may be from the current or previous calendar year.  

Option 2

Verify that the nominee’s most recent vita has been placed on the FRPA website. Then, submit the following documents in Microsoft Word or PDF format:

  • Nomination Letter — Describe the nature of the service performed, the time and effort devoted to it, the unique nature of the service and the results obtained. Identify the value of the service to the benefiting groups, the persistence with which obstacles were attacked and overcome, and the examples of leadership thus shown.
  • Supporting Letters — Optional.


Previous Recipients


Karl Linden
Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering


Matt Morris
Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering


Leysia Palen
Computer Science


Sandra Vasconez
Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering


Ken Anderson
Dean's Office


Scott Palo
Aerospace Engineering Sciences


Daria Kotys-Schwartz
Mechanical Engineering


Michael Brandemuehl
Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering