Published: April 17, 2020
Kang announces

The 23rd annual awards program recognizes outstanding individuals and departments who demonstrate a sincere commitment to continuing the CU Boulder tradition of leadership and student participation in campus sustainability.  Awardees exhibit innovation that directly reduces the University's ecological footprint, enhances social cohesion and equity in the campus community, and/or integrates sustainability into the culture of Boulder and our local communities.

The awards will be announced by David Kang, Vice Chancellor for Infrastructure and Sustainability at the April 20th CU Earth Day Town Hall and presented in-person at the 2021 awards ceremony.

This year, there are five campus sustainability awardees and two special recognition certificate recipients.

2020 Campus Sustainability Award Winners

  • Matthew Bedeaux & Paul Rastrelli, Student Leadership

  • Rick George, Individual Achievement

  • Colleen Scanlan Lyons, Individual Achievement

  • Leaf Van Boven, Green Faculty

  • Janet Walker, Individual Achievement

  • Facilities Management Environmental Services, Special Recognition for Departmental Achievement

  • Christian DiSalvo, Special Recognition for Student Leadership

Additionally, there are six awards for the CU Green Labs Program.

2020 CU Green Labs Award Winners

  • Stem Cell Research & Technology Resource Center, Partnership for Lab Sustainability

  • CHEMunity - Green Chemistry Scholarships, Partnership for Lab Sustainability

  • EH&S Radiation Safety Office, Departmental Achievement

  • Cherie Summers, Individual Achievement

  • Benjamin LaFavor, Individual Achievement

  • Mitchell Magrini, Individual Achievement

Campus will also recognize departments who have earned or renewed their Green Office certification in the past year: 

  • Department of Human Resources

  • Office of Institutional Equity and Compliance (OIEC) 

Learn more about the Campus Sustainability Awards Program