The Literacy Practicum team consists of faculty and graduate students in the Department of Linguistics who are committed to CU Boulder’s mission of forging meaningful relationships with organizations, schools, and families in the broader Boulder community.  The Program Director, Prof. Kira Hall, manages a devoted group of MA and PhD students who act as liaisons between the undergraduates who take part in the Literacy Practicum, the faculty who teach our TESOL and sociocultural linguistic courses, and our outstanding community partners.

Kira Hall, Literacy Practicum Program Director
Kira picture

Email contact : kira.hall@colorado.edu
CU Boulder website

Dr. Kira Hall is Associate Professor in the Departments of Linguistics and Anthropology at the University of Colorado Boulder and Director of the Program in Culture, Language, and Social Practice (CLASP). Her research examines issues of language and social identity in India and United States. As Director of the Literacy Practicum, Kira works with our four community partners and a team of graduate student liaisons to place CU Boulder undergraduates with literacy and language learners in the Boulder community.

Chu Paing, Literacy Practicum Graduate Student Program Director
Email contact : chu.paing@colorado.edu

Chu Paing Headshot

Chu Paing is a PhD student in the Department of Linguistics at the University of Colorado Boulder. Her research interests include majority/minority language dynamics, language and politics, language maintenance and shift, language and identity, and narrative and storytelling. Chu coordinates the administrative functions of the Literacy Practicum program and serves as a liaison for the Family Learning Center program.

2018 Literacy Practicum Graduate Student Liaisons

Logan Young, MA student, Department of Linguistics
Email contact: logan.j.young@colorado.edu

Holly Welch, MA student, Department of Linguistics
Email contact: holly.welch@colorado.edu  

2019 Literacy Practicum Undergraduate Liaisons

Nicolette Pellerin, former Reading Buddies program volunteer and first blog post winner, Fall 2018
Email contact: Nicolette.pellerin@colorado.edu

Oula Kareem, former Reading Buddies and Family Learning Center programs volunteer
Email contact: oula.kareem@colorado.edu

2018 Literacy Practicum Graduate Student Liaisons

Michelle Brown, MA Student, Department of Linguistics
Email contact: michelle.a.brown@colorado.edu

Kayla Kohake, MA Student, Department of Linguistics
Email contact: kayla.kohake@colorado.edu

Nicholas Shaffer, MA Student, Department of Linguistics
Email contact: nicholas.c.shaffer@colorado.edu

Logan Young, MA Student, Department of Linguistics
Email contact: logan.j.young@colorado.edu

2017 Literacy Practicum Graduate Student Liaisons

Carolyn Klier, MA Student, Department of Linguistics
Email contact: carolyn.klier@colorado.edu

Gwendolen Vandenberg, MA Student, Department of Linguistics
Email contact: gwen.vandenberg@colorado.edu

Practicum Group

Coordinators and volunteers, Fall 2017

Fall 2016 Group Picture

Volunteers in Fall 2016

Spring 2016 Group Picture

Coordinators and volunteers, Spring 2016