Basque, Catalan, and Galician in 2022

Join us on October 6th 10:00am -12pm MDT for a Roundtable Discussion of “Reclaiming New Speakers, Revising Old Authenticities: Basque, Catalan, and Galician.”

Sept. 28, 2022

This event is organized by EDiSo`s Research Commission and co-sponsored by the CLASP Program at the University of Colorado Boulder. The event is aimed to open a critical conversation about the three main minoritized languages in the Spanish State -Basque, Catalan, and Galician- and their sociolinguistic position in this third...

This is Their Land 

This is Their Land selected for the 10th Annual Klamath Independent Film Festival!

Sept. 16, 2022

The short film This is Their Land was selected for the 10th Annual Klamath Independent Film Festival 2022 and premiered Saturday (9/17) at the Ross Ragland Theater in Klamath Falls, Oregon. The film provides a narrative retelling of Modoc leader Captain Jack's efforts with the United States Peace Commission during...

Linguistics increment

Oh, the humanities!

Sept. 10, 2022

A recent article in the Washington Post pointed to a pervasive trend of regret among liberal arts majors, half of whom wish that they had chosen a different major. For the past decade, students have been increasingly focused on a major that they believe will provide better lifetime job prospects,...


Linguistics students helm 2022 A&S Welcome Fair table

Sept. 6, 2022

As CU Boulder welcomed the class of 2026 to campus, CU Linguistics undergraduate students helped introduce first-year students to the field of linguistics at the College of Arts and Sciences Welcome Fair. Held August 19 on Sewell Field during CU Welcome Week, the A&S Welcome Fair provided an opportunity for...


CU Linguistics Professor Andy Cowell Leads Creation of Systemwide Land Acknowledgement

Sept. 6, 2022

As a result of the tireless collaborative efforts of Department of Linguistics Professor Andy Cowell, the faculty director of the Center for Native American And Indigenous Studies (CNAIS) , along with a campus advisory group representing Inclusion, Diversity, and Excellence in Academics Council (IDEA) and the Office of Diversity, Equity,...

book cover2

Prof. Raymond and co-author offer a "first" with their new Spanish-language textbook

Aug. 12, 2022

Prof. Chase Raymond, together with co-author Luis Manuel Olguín (UCLA), has just published Análisis de la Conversación: fundamentos, metodología y alcances with Routledge Press (2022). This 235-page textbook offers the first comprehensive introduction to the theory and method of Conversation Analysis, written entirely in Spanish and using Spanish conversational data...

Dr. Joseph Dupris

Joseph Dupris discusses Klamath language revitalization

June 12, 2022

There are currently about 7,000 languages in the world, but some are endangered or dying. Protecting endangered languages not only preserves world language diversity but also helps to retain the cultures and identities that are closely tied to those languages. Herald and News interviewed Dr. Joseph Dupris and reported the...


CU Linguistics celebrates the career of Professor Barbara Fox

May 26, 2022

On May 21, 2022, colleagues, research collaborators and grateful former students of CU Professor Emerita Barbara Fox (upper left) gathered on Zoom to celebrate her 37-year career in linguistics. CU faculty members Prof. Bhuvana Narasimhan and Chase Raymond oversaw a day of recollection in which over 20 colleagues and former...

Dr. Rai Farrelly

Rai Farrelly to help guide global English language learning body

May 20, 2022

Dr. Raichle Farrelly, Teaching Associate Professor and director of the TESOL program at CU Boulder Linguistics, has been elected to the Board of Directors for the TESOL International Association . Rai is one of three newly-elected board members for this wide-reaching and dynamic organization and will serve a three-year term...

Susan Brown

Susan Brown receives 21-22 Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award

April 13, 2022

Dr. Susan Brown, senior research associate, instructor of computational Linguistics courses and associate director of the CLASIC program, has been chosen by CU's Graduate School as a winner of the 2021-2022 Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award. Reflecting on this honor, Dr. Brown says, "I love my job, and I'm so glad...