Conference Chairs

  • Carl KovalUniversity of Colorado Boulder (United States)
  • Garry RumblesUniversity of Colorado at Boulder and National Renewable Energy Laboratory (United States)
  • Sean ShaheenUniversity of Denver (United States)
  • Ivan SmalyukhUniversity of Colorado Boulder (United States)
  • Jao van de LagemaatNational Renewable Energy Laboratory (United States)

Thank you I-CAMP 2012 Poster

I-CAMP•12 Scientific Committee

  • Neal ArmstrongUniversity of Arizona
  • Marc BaldoMassachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Zhenan BaoStanford University
  • John BowersUniversity of California at Santa Barbara
  • Daniel DapkusUniversity of Southern California
  • Elena GaloppiniRutgers University
  • Devens GustArizona State University
  • Alan HeegerUniversity of California at Santa Barbara
  • Julia W. P. HsuUniversity of Texas at Dallas
  • Valeria D. KleimanUniversity of Florida
  • Victor KlimovLos Alamos National Laboratory
  • Arthi JayaramanUniversity of Colorado Boulder
  • Nathan LewisCalifornia Institute of Technology
  • Yueh-Lin (Lynn) LooPrinceton University
  • Michael McGeheeStanford University
  • Thomas MeyerUniversity of North Carolina Chapel Hill
  • Vidvuds OzolinsUniversity of California at Los Angeles
  • Thomas RussellUniversity of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Ifor SamuelUniversity of St. Andrews, Scotland
  • Rachel A. SegalmanUniversity of California, Berkeley
  • Natalie StingelinImperial College London
  • William TumasNational Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Michael WasielewskiNorthwestern University
  • James YardleyColumbia University
  • Jie ZhangInstitute of Materials Research and Engineering, Singapore
  • Xiaoyang ZhuUniversity of Texas at Austin

NanoPV Workshop Organizing Committee

  • Jao van de LagemaatNational Renewable Energy Laboratory and University of Colorado Boulder
  • Reuben CollinsColorado School of Mines
  • Gordana DukovicUniversity of Colorado Boulder
  • Art NozikNational Renewable Energy Laboratory and University of Colorado Boulder
  • Mark LuskColorado School of Mines

Logistics Committee

  • Diane StultsLogistics Committee Chair & RASEI Associate Director for Business Development
  • Danielle FelixEvent Coordinator & Executive Assistant to the Director of RASEI
  • Cheryl BrazeauRASEI Financial Sponsorship Coordinator
  • Margie BoppAdministrative Support and RASEI Program Coordinator

General Information about the I-CAMP Summer School

The Inter-Continental Advanced Materials for Photonics (I-CAMP) Summer School will enable researchers working at the forefronts of materials science & photonics to discuss the emerging uses of light for control and fundamental study of matter and advances in the use of materials to control light. The I-CAMP School will provide education for young scientists working in materials science, optics, photonics, biophysics, nanoscience, and related fields. The goal is to prepare the participants for research at the frontiers of science and technology by providing an interdisciplinary expert training not easily available within the traditional system of graduate education and postdoctoral apprenticeship. The Summer School is primarily targeted at advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and postdoctoral fellows within the first three years after defending PhD, although those in different circumstances are considered too. In particular, we strongly encourage early-career professionals from Industry to participate in the I-CAMP school if the school topics match their interests/background. At each I-CAMP Summer School, there will be 50-100 students from a diverse range of scientific backgrounds and from different countries (with at least 50% of them coming from the USA institutions). To enhance discussion and further exchange of knowledge, there will be at least three poster sessions (one per week). Each participant will be invited to present a poster on his/her current research project. The School, sponsored by the International Institute for Complex Adaptive Matter, will meet annually in different locations in a variety of countries/continents Worldwide. The interested young scientists who cannot make it to the I-CAMP school may consider remote participation via webcast. The presentations will be webcast in real time and, in addition to the on-site audience; registered participants around the World will have an opportunity to ask questions. The I-CAMP school will bring together both prominent & junior scientists and will allow them to combine advanced education with learning about different cultures worldwide. Participation of students, postdoctoral fellows, and other early-career professionals is strongly encouraged. Up to 20 fellowships will be awarded to support travel of early-career scientists each year.

Download a Summer School Poster

Summer School Program

  • Organic Photovoltaics
  • Nanoscale Photovoltaics
  • Chemical, Macromolecular, and Nanostructure Synthesis
  • Hybrid and Nanocomposites Materials
  • Quantum Chemical Design and High Performance Computing
  • Morphology Control and Characterization
  • Charge Transport and Recombination Kinetics
  • Exciton Dynamics
  • Ultrafast Photophysics
  • Thermodynamics of Photovoltaic Devices
  • 3rd Generation and Exotic Concepts
  • Plasmonics
  • Light Trapping and Optical Control
  • Nanoscale Characterization
  • Device Physics and Architecture
  • Photovoltaic Upscaling and Manufacturing
  • Solar Fuel Materials and Catalysts
  • Solar Fuel Systems Design
  • Artificial Photosynthesis
  • Biological Systems
  • Enzymatic and Bacterial Production of Biofuels
  • Economic Issues in Renewable Energy
  • Policy and Governance Issues in Renewable Energy
  • Societal Issues in Renewable Energy

I-CAMP•12 Tentative Schedule

  • July 16, Arrival, Registration and Welcome Reception
  • July 17, Scale Challenges in the Deployment of Renewable Energy Technologies
  • July 18 – July 22, Overview on Science and Technology of Solar Energy Conversion to Electricity and Fuels
  • July 23 – August 1, Organic Photovoltaics
  • August 2 – 8, Nano and Emerging Photovoltaics
  • August 8 – 11, NanoPV Workshop

Registration Fee

Student: $150; Professional: $300

I-CAMP Features and Events


For website related questions, please contact Bohdan Senyuk or Paul Ackerman.