The University of Colorado wishes to recognize outstanding efforts toward continuing the leadership and legacy of sustainability at CU Boulder. Since 1997 the Annual Campus Sustainability Awards have recognized individuals, departments, and offices that have made a significant contribution to reducing the ecological footprint and increasing the resilience of campus infrastructure and improving social cohesion and equity in campus communities. Outstanding efforts make CU's successful and challenging approaches to attaining sustainability possible. The awardees exemplify CU's continuing efforts to become a sustainable institution and set an example for environmental stewardship and responsibility.  Some of the awardees have made groundbreaking efforts that will change the overall way CU operates, and others make an impact on the community and campus environment with their everyday actions.  The Awards happen every April in conjunction with the Campus Sustainability Summit.

2023 Campus Sustainability Awards

Three partnership initiatives deserve special recognition: 

The CU Green Labs Program recognizes three awardees:

Awards come in the form of a 100% recycled-content plaque presented by campus leadership at the 30th annual Campus Sustainability Summit scheduled for April 19 and 20, 2023.  



Call for Nominations

Nominations deadline for 2023 is March 9th. 

Nominate outstanding individuals and departments who demonstrate a sincere commitment to transforming the CU Boulder campus into a living laboratory for sustainability through innovation that directly reduces the university's ecological footprint, enhances social equity and cohesion in the campus community or integrates sustainability into the culture of our local communities.

Campus Sustainability Award Nomination Form

Green Labs Award Program


Sustainability Award Archives


2022 Campus Sustainability Awards Announcement

2022 Award Descriptions

2021 Campus Sustainability Awards Announcement

2021 Award Descriptions

2020 Campus Sustainability Awards Announcement  

2020 Campus Sustainability Awards Descriptions

2019 Awards Announcement

2019 Award Descriptions

Award Selections 1997-2018


Campus Sustainability Awards Committee (2023)

  • Lisa Barlow, Associate Teaching Professor, Environment and Natural Sciences Residential Academic Program and Environmental Studies Department
  • Virginia Schultz, Coordinator, CU Conference Services
  • Marianne Martin, Associate Director, Environmental Center
  • Serafina Scalo, Sustainabilty Coordinator, CU Student Government
  • Edward von Bleichert, Sustainabiltiy and Resiliency Program Manager, Infrastructure and Sustainability