SLHS Scholarships Overview 

The Department of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences is thrilled to provide graduate and undergraduate students with the opportunity to apply and be nominated for several scholarships.

Many of our awards and scholarships are funded by the generous donations of our alumni and supporters. Please consider making a donation to support our students and the department as whole by making a gift to one of our student or department funds.

Dr. Peter Ramig Endowed Scholarship

The Dr. Peter Ramig Endowed Scholarship was established in 2021. Dr. Peter Ramig’s intent was to fund an endowment for Graduate students in the Department of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences with a special interest in stuttering.

Frank Morris Speech and Language Pathology Scholarship

The Frank Morris Speech & Language Pathology Scholarship was established in 2021 in honor of Frank Morris. Frank was a strong proponent of education through his entire life and believed in the compassionate care of others, hard work, dedication, and commitment to excellence.

Scottish Rite Foundation Scholarship

Created in 2005 The Scottish Rite Graduate Student Foundation Scholarship is a merit based award given to second year graduate students pursuing a career in Speech Language Pathology. This scholarship is named in honor of former Sovereign Grand Inspector General and President of the Foundation, Dwight A Hamilton. 

Barbara Lynn Bowler Memorial Scholarship 

The Barbara Lynn Bowler Memorial Scholarship is an award that is given to graduate students and undergraduate SLHS majors who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to the SLHS department or to the field of speech, language, and hearing sciences. 

Marilyn Kaye Johnson Scholarship 

The Marilyn Kaye Johnson Scholarship is established in memory of Marilyn Kaye Johnson. Marilyn received a M.A. in Communications Disorders and Speech Science from CU in 1985. She dedicated over 20 years of her life to serving as a speech-language pathologist for K-12 students in the Navajo school system operated by the federal government’s Bureau of Indian Education (BIE).

CSHA Elizabeth G. Jancosek Graduate Student Scholarship

The scholarship is in honor of Dr. Elizabeth G. Jancosek, Professor Emeritus, of the University of Colorado, Department of Communication Disorders.