Noel Clark Portrait

Noel Clark Named Professor of Distinction

View the A&S Announcement Congratulations to Physics Professor Noel A Clark, who was selected by the College of Arts and Sciences as a 2020 Professor of Distinction, the highest faculty title in the college. This honorific title is reserved for scholars and artists of national and international distinction who are...

Dennis Perepelitsa Portrait

Dennis Perepelitsa Named Cottrell Scholar

Feb. 13, 2020

Professor Dennis Perepelitsa has been named a 2020 Cottrell Scholar through the Research Corporation for Scientific Advancement. The announcement was made on Monday, February 10, 2020. According to their Web site, the Cottrell Scholar Award (CSA) "honors and helps to develop outstanding teacher-scholars who are recognized by their scientific communities...

Portrait Henry Kapteyn and Margaret Murnane

Henry Kapteyn and Margaret Murnane Named 2020 Franklin Institute Laureates in Physics

Jan. 27, 2020

View the CU Boulder Today Article Congratulations to Physics Professors and JILA Fellows Henry Kapteyn and Margaret Murnane, who were named 2020 Franklin Institute Award Laureates in Physics. The awards were announced in a news release Monday morning, January 27, 2020. Kapteyn and Murnane are only the second married couple...

Portrait Bill O'Sullivan

In Memoriam: Bill O'Sullivan

Jan. 23, 2020

View Dr. Sullivan's Obituary Professor Emeritus William O'Sullivan passed away on Saturday, January 18, 2020. He was 88. Dr. O'Sullivan's distinguished career lasted over 35 years, from 1968 to his retirement in 2002. Between 1988 and 1966, Dr. O'Sullivan served as Chair of the Department of Physics, a period of...

CU Physics Ranked 13th Internationally, According to ARWU 2019

Aug. 27, 2019

View the Physics Rankings A new Academic Ranking of World Universities report issued from Shanghai Ranking has listed the Physics program at the University of Colorado, Boulder as the 13th best university globally for physics. The ranking was issued in August 2019. According to the list, CU Boulder's Physics program...

Professor Ana Maria Rey First Hispanic Woman to Win Prestigious Blavatnik Early Career Award

June 27, 2019

String theory of big bang represented by lines. Image derived from Mathematica

Physics Professor Paul Romatschke Finds Loose Thread to String Theory Puzzle

June 24, 2019

Electrons tunnel between quantum-chaotic islands to form an ultra-quantum metal

Professors Victor Gurarie and Michael Hermele To Study Ultra-Quantum Matter in a New Simons Collaboration

May 28, 2019

Caption: Depiction of synthetic quantum matter giving rise to topological phenomena Credit: Harald Ritsch, IQOQI, University of Innsbruck Professors Michael Hermele (Left) and Victor Gurarie (Right). Physics Professors Victor Gurarie and Michael Hermele have joined the newly established Simons Collaboration on Ultra-Quantum Matter . The collaboration, led by Ashvin Vishwanath...

Murray Holland Wins 2019 Marinus Smith Award

May 2, 2019

Frances Arnold Portrait

Fifty-Third Gamow Lecture March 31, 2020 to Feature Nobel Laureate Frances Arnold

April 3, 2019

The George Gamow Memorial Committee is proud to announce that the Fifty-Third George Gamow Memorial Lecture will be delivered by Nobel Laureate Fances Arnold. The lecture will take place on Tuesday, March 31, 2020 in Macky Auditorium. Based at the California Institute of Technology, Dr. Arnold earned the 2018 Nobel...