Published: Nov. 14, 2013

Congratulations to Professor Steven Pollock, who was named a 2013 U.S. Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education. The announcement was made during a ceremony in Washington D.C. on Thursday, November 14th.

The awards recognize the most outstanding undergraduate educators in the country. Pollock is the second CU-Boulder professor to win a U.S. Professor of the Year Award. Nobel laureate Carl Wieman, also a physics professor, was honored with the designation in 2004. 

“It’s a real honor for me, but more importantly, I believe it reflects very strongly on the unique culture of support for education at CU-Boulder,” Pollock said. “It’s also remarkable to me that they are giving the award to another physicist in the same department. I think that really says something nice about the work we are all doing.”

<Read more about the U.S. Professor of the Year award.>