Prof. Narasimhan represents Linguistics at this year's UROP Symposium

Dec. 6, 2018

Prof. Bhuvana Narasimhan represented the Department of Linguistics by hosting an interest table at this year’s UROP Symposium —a critical opportunity for students from historically underrepresented and underserved communities to meet faculty and learn how to get started on research, scholarly and creative projects. While the UROP Symposium is often...

Prof. Rebecca Scarborough elected to LSA Executive Committee

Nov. 7, 2018

Please join us in congratulating Prof. Rebecca Scarborough , who has been elected to serve as a member of the Executive Committee of the Linguistic Society of America (LSA) . This is wonderful exposure for our Department in addition to helping strengthen our ties to the LSA, for whom Prof...

Prof. Barbara Fox and colleagues win ISCA Best Book award

Nov. 2, 2018

The International Society for Conversation Analysis (ISCA) has selected Grammar in Everyday Talk: Building Responsive Actions (co-authored by CU Linguistics Prof. Barbara Fox , with Sandra A. Thompson and Elizabeth Couper-Kuhlen) as the recipient of the 2018 Best Book Award ! This prestigious award is given out once every four...

CU Linguistics students attend IGALA conference in Botswana

June 22, 2018

CU-Boulder Linguistics students from Prof. Kira Hall ’s 2017 graduate seminar on 'Language, Gender, and Sexuality' attend the International Gender and Language Association (IGALA) Conference in Botswana. Pictured to the left are: Djankow Mathew , Brandon Kahlil Thomas , Chu Paing , Andrew Ting , Olivia Hirschey , and Mabia Camargo .

International English Center releases documentary on CU Employee English Language Program

May 30, 2018

The International English Center at CU Boulder, a division of CU Continuing Education operated under the supervision of the CU Linguistics department, has recently released a short documentary about the CU Employee English Language Program . During the 2017-18 academic year, a remarkable 57 employees completed the program. CU is...

CU Linguistics undergraduate award recipients publish research blogs

May 10, 2018

The Department of Linguistics is pleased to announce the release of blog entries authored by the winners of the new Linguistics Undergraduate Research Award ! Our 13 award winners for 2018 are: Shawg Ahmed, Sarah Beemer, Michael Catchen, Lauren Hoos, Christopher Koski, Jonathan Lilley, Jack McCurdy, Harrison Puscher, Amy Sanders,...

Prof. Narasimhan receives grant from the Spencer Foundation

May 9, 2018

Prof. Bhuvana Narasimhan was recently awarded a grant from the Spencer Foundation to work on a research project titled "'More is Up': Investigating the Vertical Number Line in Preschoolers". Together with graduate student Norielle Adricula and a team of undergraduate students, the project will investigate the development of space-number mappings...

Profs. Hall, Thomas-Ruzic, and Raymond named Faculty Fellows for Community-Based Learning

April 30, 2018

Prof. Kira Hall , Dr. Maria Thomas-Ruzic , and Prof. Chase Raymond were recently named 2018-2019 Faculty Fellows for Community-Based Learning at CU-Boulder. A substantial grant from CU Engage will support an initiative to expand the Literacy Practicum , a service-learning course that pairs CU undergraduates with literacy and language...

Prof. Hulden receives CU-Boulder's Marinus Smith Award

April 24, 2018

The Department is pleased to announce that Prof. Mans Hulden has been selected as a recipient of CU-Boulder's Marinus Smith Award. The Marinus Smith Award honors excellence in teaching and those who have made a particularly positive impact on the lives of CU undergraduate students. Nominations for the award are...


Department celebrates Prof. Zygmunt Frajzyngier

April 24, 2018

Faculty, departmental visitors, and former students gathered on Friday, April 20th to celebrate Prof. Zygmunt Frajzyngier on his 80th birthday. Prof. Frajzyngier (seated center-right in the group picture to the left) has been a member of CU-Boulder's Department of Linguistics for an astounding 48 years. We thank him for his...