This award recognizes achievements by a faculty member who has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of knowledge through research activities. Research faculty and tenured/tenure-track faculty are eligible. This award was initially established in 1978. 

The contributions of the nominee should emphasize the recent research activities of the individual. The accomplishments should indicate how the individual has advanced the field of knowledge and provided new and innovative insights into unsolved research problems.

The nomination should describe the value and impact of results achieved, the significance they hold for the field involved, and any peer recognition or awards the nominee has received as a result of his/her research activities.

The award is presented annually and the winner receives a stipend of $2,000.  An individual may only be awarded this recognition one time.

Nomination Procedures

  1. Nominations and supporting documentation should be returned to the dean’s office by the first Friday in November.
  2. A committee of three faculty, appointed by the associate dean for faculty advancement, will review all nominations and recommend an award recipient to the dean.
  3. Award will be presented at the college faculty and staff reception in December.

Making a Nomination

Verify that the nominee's most recent vita has been placed on the FRPA website. Then, submit the following documents in Word or PDF format:

  • Nomination Letter — Describe the nominee’s recent research and the resulting new insights, impact, and knowledge provided to the field. Include recognition of relevant publications (provide doi or other citation), awards, and the subsequent achievements of student researchers and post-docs.
  • Supporting Letters — Optional.

Previous Recipients


Greg Rieker 
Rady Mechanical Engineering


Shelly Miller
Rady Mechanical Engineering


Jade Morton
Smead Aerospace Engineering Sciences


Dragan Maksimovic
Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering


John Zhai
Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering


Hanspeter Schaub
Smead Aerospace Engineering Sciences


Charles Musgrave
Chemical and Biological Engineering


Harihar Rajaram
Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering


Kristine Larson
Aerospace Engineering Sciences


Diane McKnight
Civil, Environmental & Architectual Engineering


Balaji Rajagopalan
Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering