The award recognizes faculty who have made outstanding contributions to teaching. Instructional faculty and tenured/tenure-track faculty are eligible. The award honors Charles A. Hutchinson, a distinguished professor of applied mathematics in the college from 1918 to 1966. He received the college's Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award posthumously in 1970.

The factors that may be considered include, but are not limited to: record of course teaching; leadership in curriculum, laboratory, or course development at the department, college, or campus level; individual supervision of undergraduate or graduate students; leadership in professional activities about teaching and education; publications and presentations about teaching and education. The award is intended to recognize faculty who have shown a consistent dedication to teaching, education, and students.

The award is presented annually and the winner receives a stipend of $2,000.  An individual may only be awarded this recognition one time.

Nomination Procedures

  1. Nominations and supporting documentation should be returned to the dean’s office by the first Friday in November each year.
  2. A committee of three, appointed by the associate dean for faculty advancement, will review all nominations and recommend an award recipient to the dean.
  3. The award will be given at the college faculty and staff reception in December.

Making a Nomination

Verify that the nominee's most recent vita has been placed on the FRPA website. Then, submit the following documents in Word or PDF format:

  • Nomination Letter — Describe the contribution(s) to teaching, which have been made by the nominee. These contributions can include but are not limited to, such areas as course teaching, curriculum/lab/course development, student supervision, and teaching publications. Nominators may solicit student comments and include them in the letter.
  • Supporting Letters — Optional.


Previous Recipients


Dan Godrick
Integrated Design Engineering


Mike Soltys
Integrated Design Engineering


Arielle Dispenza (Hein)


Matt Morris
Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering


Julie Steinbrenner
Mechanical Engineering


Jeffrey Knutsen
Mechanical Engineering


Abbie Liel
Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering


Alireza Doostan
Aerospace Engineering Sciences


Matthew Hallowell
Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering


Donna Gerren
Aerospace Engineering Sciences


Mark Rentschler
Mechanical Engineering