This past weekend, CU Boulder’s Collegiate Ethics Bowl Team was awarded the Bob Ladenson "Spirit of the Ethics Bowl” Award while competing at the 25th Silver Anniversary APPE Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl National Competition.  Named after the founder of the Ethics Bowl, the “Spirit of the Ethics Bowl” award is given to a team that best embodies the qualities of civility and courtesy while also showing an appreciation for the ideas involved in the cases under discussion and striving to ensure a high quality of discussion of those ideas.  Other participating teams vote on the winners of this award.

CU Boulder's Ethics Bowl Team (Dylan Anderson, Kalyna Blevins, Henry Comes-Pritchett, and Alden Mallory) are honored to receive this award.  They had a wonderful time engaging in important ethical discussions with schools from around the country, ranging from regulation of speech on social media to the moral dimensions of quarantine and other pandemic policies.

If you are interested in learning more about our ethics bowl program, please email coaches Megan Kitts (current PhD student in the Philosophy Department) and Zak Kopeikin (current Lecturer, former PhD student in the Philosophy Department). The coaches and team thank the CU Boulder Philosophy Department and the Center for Values and Social Policy for their ongoing support of the ethics bowl program.