university memorial center courtyard

Who we are

The University of Colorado Student Government, or CUSG for short, is the official governing body of the nearly 36,000 students at CU Boulder. As the most autonomous student government in the nation, CUSG is responsible for allocating $34 million in student fees to improve the lives of all CU students.

The primary objective of CUSG is to serve students wherever possible.

What we do

CUSG seeks to make a meaningful impact on the lives of CU Boulder students through advocacy, representation, allocation, and legislation.

 As your representatives, we:

  • Work to ensure that the students' voice is heard in important campus decisions
  • Oversee facilities such as the University Memorial Center (UMC), the Rec Center, Program Council, and the Center for Student Involvement (CSI) through our positions on joint boards
  • Support student organizations and clubs on campus by allocating for club expenses like food and events
  • Enact legislation to help better the lives of the student population
  • Help organize events like Homecoming, the Diversity Summit, the Inclusive Sports Summit, and more 

How we do it

CUSG comprises three branches, the Executive Branch, the Legislative Branch, and the Judicial Branch.

The Executive Branch:

  • Consists of the Tri-Executives, three student body presidents, their staff, and the Freshmen Council.
  • New Tri-Executives are elected each spring, and they serve as the head of the Executive Branch for the entirety of the following school year.
  • The executive staff organizes events like Homecoming and works to maintain open lines of communication with student groups and campus leadership.

The Legislative Branch, or Legislative Council:

  • Consists of the Representative Council and the Council of Colleges and Schools.
  • Nine Representatives-At-Large sit on Representative Council, with five being elected during the Fall Elections and four being elected during the Spring Elections. All these representatives sit on Joint-Boards to ensure the students' voice is heard in all major campus programs.
  • The Council of Colleges and Schools consists of eighteen school senators appointed or elected by their colleges; two School Senators represent each CU Boulder local school. As a whole, the Legislative Branch enacts legislation to help better the lives of the student population.

The Judicial Branch:

  • Consists of seven Justices, who serve lifetime appointments and are appointed by the Executive Branch and ratified by Legislative Council.
  • The Judicial Branch oversees legitimacy and transparency, in addition to questions of constitutionality in cases brought by students and other representatives at the University, or that arise in all of the cost centers that CUSG oversees.
  • Justices hear cases and rule on decisions that concern breaches of justice. Justices are in-charge of also providing guidance and advice to both branches of government regarding the constitutionality behind legislation and other efforts.