The Payden Award recognizes excellence in teaching and research or creative work with a $20,000 cash prize and the opportunity to present a colloquium on effective teaching methods to faculty colleagues and graduate students. William R. Payden (Jour’57), who established the Payden endowment in 2010, was known for his boundless curiosity and enthusiasm, as evidenced by his wide variety of professional paths and personal interests. Payden was a journalist, college professor, sports fan, cinephile, professional pianist, world traveler and collector of aviation memorabilia and classic cars.

2017 award winner
Professor of Communication Peter Simonson is a highly regarded scholar who has challenged disciplinary boundaries through his many contributions to the field of communication history. Since joining the CU faculty in 2006, he has taught a variety of courses, served as the principal advisor for numerous dissertation and thesis projects and developed or co-developed new courses ranging from Introductory Concepts and Creativity to graduate seminars. 

Prior winners

  • 2016: Steve Jones
  • 2015: Harsha Ganga
  • 2014: Tom Yulsman
  • 2013: Janice Peck
  • 2012: Nabil Echchaibi
  • 2011: Stewart Hoover
  • 2010: Mindy Cheval and Paul Daugherty
  • 2009: Jan Whitt
  • 2008: Elizabeth Skewes
  • 2007: Andrew Calabrese
  • 2006: Steve Jones