For Majors:

To better respond to the needs and desires of our students, the Department of Religious Studies is excited to announce an overhaul of our undergraduate major.  The new major requirements, which go into effect for all students declaring Religious Studies as a major on or after August 20, 2016, aim to better position our graduates for the cross-cultural, comparative, historical and contemporary study of religions in a globalizing, diverse world.

The new major requirements are as follows:

  • Students must complete the general requirements of the College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Students must complete at least 36 credit hours of Religious Studies course work. At least 27 credit hours must be taken in the CU Department of Religious Studies including the following requirements.
  • Two required classes in the Academic Study of Religion:
    • RLST 1620, Religious Dimensions of Human Experience (3 credit hours)
    • RLST 4830, Senior Seminar in the Study of Religion (3 credit hours)
  • Cluster Requirement (three courses, 9 credit hours):
    • Students are required to take 3 courses in either (a) a single religious tradition, or (b) a particular theme.  The traditions, themes, and associated courses are listed on the Department of Religious Studies website.

Current Religious Studies students or those who register for the major before August 20, 2016 maintain the former requirements for a BA in Religious Studies, but are also invited to meet with our advisor about the possibility of transitioning to the new requirements.

The previous major requirements are as follows:

  • Satisfaction of the regular college requirements for the B.A. degree.
  • Students must complete at least 36 hours of Religious Studies course work including the following required courses and projects.
  • RLST 4830 Senior Seminar (3 hours): ​
    • taken the last year as an undergraduate after all other requirements have been met
    • This course will demonstrate for and involve students in an extensive study exemplary of the Academic Study of Religion selected by the faculty person offering the course including a careful consideration of the theoretical dimensions of the work presented in historical context. Student papers culminating the Concentration Area sequence will be presented at the conclusion of this course. Taught Spring Semester annually.
  • Concentration Area:
    • 3 courses (9 hours). With the consultation and approval of an undergraduate advisor, three RLST courses are to be selected so that the courses build competence in a designated area of concentration.

For Minors:

  • Eighteen (18) credit hours in Religious Studies courses, including at least 6 hours of lower division and 9 hours of upper division work. At least 12 hours must be taken in the Department of Religious Studies.