Published: May 16, 2018

The Political Science Department raked in some very deserved recognition at this year’s Graduate Student Awards. The event kicked off on May 9th, celebrating the many accomplishments of CU Boulder’s graduate students. Each award acknowledges the feats that were achieved, but some awards are accompanied by aid, or fellowships and grants.

A total of nine representatives of the Political Science Department won awards. However, not all of these winners were graduate students. Professor David Bearce won the very prestigious Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award.

The eight graduate students to win collected a total four different awards for a variety of different accolades. Winning these awards is extremely helpful in their academic path.

The Dissertation Completion Fellowship was awarded to four of our graduate students: Nathan Cook, Anna Daily, Timothy Passmore, and Joseph Zamadics. This award provides one academic semester of support to aid in dissertation completion.

The GPTI Teaching Excellence Award recognizes graduate teaching excellence. This was received by Dalton Dorr and Timothy Passmore.

Timothy Passmore received yet another award with the Graduate School Summer Fellowship. This supplies him a $6,000 fellowship during the summer semester.

Five graduate students won the Beverly Sears Graduate Student Grant. Those students are Nathan Cook, Anna Daily, Kimberly Killen, Adriana Molina Garzon, and Hannah Paul. Receiving this award provides each student small grants for research at the master’s or doctoral level.

Congratulations to those acknowledged at this year’s Graduate Student Awards.