Five physics students awarded prestigious NSF fellowships

June 7, 2023

Physics Student Emma Simmerman awarded prestigious Astronaut Scholarship

Sept. 27, 2018


Javier Orjuela-Koop Wins People's Choice Award at Inaugural 3 Minute Thesis Competition

March 2, 2018

View the 3MT News Article Congratulations to Physics Grad Student Javier Orjuela-Koop for winning the People's Choice Award during the Inaugural Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition on Tuesday, February 20th. Orjuela-Koop's Thesis, "Michael Phelps and the Early Universe" was presented using only one powerpoint slide, which was an image of...

Graduate Robert Blackwell Earns APS Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Biological Physics

March 21, 2017

Congratulations to PhD graduate Robert Blackwell for earning the 2016 Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Biological Physics. “I'm honored to be in such amazing company. There isn't a much better feeling than giving your hard work to the scientific community.” Blackwell said, “Having that work recognized is almost...

Matthew Winchester Portrait

Engineering Physics Student Matthew Winchester Wins 2016 Goldwater Scholarship

April 1, 2016

Congratulations to Matthew Winchester who was awarded a 2016 Goldwater Scholarship! Matthew is majoring in Engineering Physics, and is working on an honors research project on super-radiant lasers in James Thompson’s lab. After graduating with his undergraduate degree, Matthew plans to pursue a Ph.D. in physics, conducting research in atomic,...

Three Engineering Physics Students Selected Outstanding Graduates of College of Engineering & Applied Science

March 14, 2016

Congratulations to three Engineering Physics students who have been selected as Outstanding Graduates of the College of Engineering and Applied Science for May 2016. Outstanding Graduate of the College — Andrew "Oak" Nelson Oak Nelson has, most recently, been working with Professor Tobin Munsat at the dust accelerator at IMPACT...

Max Ruth Named Inaugural Gamow Scholar

Dec. 30, 2015

Congratulations to Max Ruth, who was selected as the inaugural Igor and Elfriede Gamow scholar. Max is an honors student in physics, and is conducting optics research with Associate Professor Thomas Schibli. The Gamows’ gift supports undergraduate students majoring in physics, engineering physics, or astrophysics. Rustem Igor Gamow is the...

Engineering Physics Student Wins 2015 Goldwater Scholarship

April 16, 2015

Congratulations to Engineering Physics student Andrew Nelson, who has been awarded a prestigious Goldwater Scholarship. The announcement was made on Wednesday, April 15th. Nelson is the third CU-Physics student to win a Goldwater Scholarship in two years. The scholarship is worth up to $7,500 and recognizes sophomores and juniors who...

The William and Dorothy O'Sullivan Graduate Award in Physics

Feb. 15, 2012

Overview We are proud to announce the second year of the O'Sullivan Family Graduate Fellowship Award, funded by William and Dorothy O'Sullivan. Their gifts the last two years, and their commitments for the future, will provide critical fellowship support for the department's best and brightest incoming graduate students. The O'Sullivan...