President’s Diversity Award goes to Physics' R-Cubed Committee

Jan. 9, 2020

An innovative Physics Department committee made up of students, postdocs, staff and faculty with diverse backgrounds and life experiences has earned a President’s Diversity Award for the CU System. The awards, which were announced Dec. 6, are given to a handful of units and individuals annually and come with a...

APS Names CU Boulder Physics Awardee for Improving Undergraduate Physics Education

Jan. 9, 2020

View the award page The Department of Physics was awarded the 2020 American Physical Society Award for Improving Undergraduate Education. The award from the APS Committee on Education “seeks to recognize excellence in undergraduate physics education and support best practices in education at the undergraduate level.” The department was one...

A&S Magazine: Paul Romatschke breaks light in half, cracking pillar of physics

Dec. 12, 2019

CU Physics Ranked 13th Internationally, According to ARWU 2019

Aug. 27, 2019

View the Physics Rankings A new Academic Ranking of World Universities report issued from Shanghai Ranking has listed the Physics program at the University of Colorado, Boulder as the 13th best university globally for physics. The ranking was issued in August 2019. According to the list, CU Boulder's Physics program...

Professor Ana Maria Rey First Hispanic Woman to Win Prestigious Blavatnik Early Career Award

June 27, 2019

String theory of big bang represented by lines. Image derived from Mathematica

Physics Professor Paul Romatschke Finds Loose Thread to String Theory Puzzle

June 24, 2019

Electrons tunnel between quantum-chaotic islands to form an ultra-quantum metal

Professors Victor Gurarie and Michael Hermele To Study Ultra-Quantum Matter in a New Simons Collaboration

May 28, 2019

Caption: Depiction of synthetic quantum matter giving rise to topological phenomena Credit: Harald Ritsch, IQOQI, University of Innsbruck Professors Michael Hermele (Left) and Victor Gurarie (Right). Physics Professors Victor Gurarie and Michael Hermele have joined the newly established Simons Collaboration on Ultra-Quantum Matter . The collaboration, led by Ashvin Vishwanath...

Murray Holland Wins 2019 Marinus Smith Award

May 2, 2019

Optical tweezers achieve new feats of capturing atoms

April 3, 2019

APS: Freezing a 2D Ion Crystal

March 27, 2019