Noah Finkelstein Named Presidential Teaching Scholar

Feb. 27, 2012

The Presidential Teaching Scholars Program announced today that Associate Professor Noah Finkelstein has been selected as a Presidential Teaching Scholar. Noah joins the 52 active Presidential Teaching Scholars on the four CU campuses who have been honored for, "effective and exemplary teaching, creative work, scholarship, and research." Presidential Teaching Scholars...

Paul Romatschke Wins Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship

Feb. 14, 2012

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Paul Romatschke for winning a 2012 Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship. The award was announced on Wednesday, February 15 th . "I feel honored to receive this prestigious award for my research in relativistic fluid dynamics and its application to high energy nuclear physics," Romatschke said. According...

Margaret Murnane Appointed Chair of the National Medal of Science Committee

Dec. 22, 2011

Physics Professor and JILA Fellow Margaret Murnane was recently selected by President Obama to chair the National Medal of Science Committee. The appointment was approved on Wedenesday, December 21st. In a news release, President Obama said, "These fine public servants bring both a depth of experience and tremendous dedication to...

Margaret Murnane Awarded RDS Irish Times Boyle Medal

Oct. 27, 2011

Congratulations to Professor Margaret Murnane, who has been awarded the prestigious RDS Irish Times Boyle Medal for Scientific Excellence. Murnane earned the award, "for her pioneering work which has transformed the field of ultrafast laser and x-ray science." Inaugurated in 1899, the Boyle Medal, Ireland's premier science award, continues to...

Physics Education Initiatives featured in Boulder Daily Camera

Oct. 12, 2011

A recent article from the Boulder Daily Camera highlights CU's Integrating STEM Education Initiative for its success in producing qualified math and science teachers. CU-Physics Professor Noah Finklestein collaborates with the Integrating STEM Education Initiative, resulting in a very high graduation rate of qualified physics teachers. < read more >

Cindy Regal Wins Packard Fellowship

Oct. 12, 2011

Cindy Regal, a University of Colorado assistant professor of physics and associate fellow of JILA, has been awarded the prestigious David and Lucile Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering. The David and Lucile Packard Foundation established the fellowship “to allow the nation’s most promising professors to pursue science and engineering...

Alysia Marino Wins PECASE Award

Sept. 27, 2011

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Alysia Marino for being named by President Obama as a recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). The announcement was delivered on Monday, September 27th. Marino was honored for her accomplishments in the study of neutrino properties and the development of...

Physics Professor Ivan Smalyukh Invited to NAS Symposium

July 19, 2011

Congratulations to Physics Professor Ivan Smalyukh, who has been invited to attend the National Academy of Sciences' twenty-third annual Kavli Frontiers of Science symposium on November 17-19, 2011 in Irvine, CA. Symposium attendees are selected by a committee of Academy members based on their recognized contributions to science. Recently, Smalyukh...

Physics Professor Minhyea Lee Selected for DOE Early Career Award

May 10, 2011

Congratulations to Physics Professor Minhyea Lee for receiving a Department of Energy Early Career Research Award. The announcement was delivered by the DOE on Friday, May 6. According to the DOE's web site, these five-year awards are designed to bolster the nation's scientific workforce by providing support to exceptional researchers...

Physics Professor Jun Ye Elected to National Academy of Sciences

May 10, 2011

Congratulations to Professor Jun Ye for being elected to the National Academy of Sciences. The news was announced by the NAS on Tuesday, May 3, 2011. Professor Ye joins 72 new members and 18 foreign associates. Ye and his scientific colleagues were recognized for their distinguished and ongoing achievements in...