Portrait of Nuris Figueroa

Professor Nuris Figueroa named a 2023 Boettcher Investigator

June 8, 2023

Margaret Murnane portrait

Professor Margaret Murnane Wins Highest Medal from The Optical Society

Feb. 20, 2017

Congratulations to JILA Fellow and Physics Professor Margaret Murnane for winning the Frederick Ives Medal/Quinn Prize, the highest award of The Optical Society. The Award was announced on February 16, 2017. According to their site, Murnane earned the award, “For pioneering and sustained contributions to ultrafast science ranging from femtosecond...

In Memoriam - John Wahr

Nov. 12, 2015

Professor John M. Wahr passed away on November 11, 2015 at the age of 64. Professor Wahr was the first geophysicist to join the Department of Physics at CU-Boulder. He joined the department as an Assistant Professor in 1983, built the Geophysics Group within the Department, and had a highly...

CU Physics team shares in 2016 Breakthrough Prize for Fundamental Physics

Nov. 9, 2015

The 2016 Breakthrough Prize for Fundamental Physics was awarded November 8, 2015 for the discovery and study of neutrino oscillations, revealing a new frontier beyond the standard model of high energy particle physics. The $3M Prize is shared among the all of the scientific collaborators including CU-Physics Professors Eric D...

Margaret Murnane Elected to American Philosophical Society

May 28, 2015

Congratulations to Physics Professor and JILA fellow Margaret Murnane, who has recently been elected to the prestigious American Philosophical Society (APS). Murnane is the fourth CU-Boulder faculty member to be elected to APS. There were 34 people worldwide elected in 2015 to the society, which was founded in 1743 in...

In Memoriam - David Lind

March 19, 2015

Professor Emeritus David A. Lind passed away Friday March 6, 2015 at the age of 96. David earned a B.S. in Physics from the University of Washington in 1940, and a Ph.D. in Physics from CalTech in 1948. He joined the faculty of the University of Wisconsin as an assistant...

Noah Finkelstein Named CU’s First Timmerhaus Teaching Ambassador

March 10, 2015

Congratulations to Professor Noah Finkelstein, who was named CU's first ever Timmerhaus Teaching Ambassador. The announcement was mad on March 4, 2015. This new outreach program is designed to tap educators to promote discussion of teaching and learning in schools and communities across the state. After a lengthy selection process,...

Leo Radzihovsky Named 2014 Simons Foundation Investigator

July 30, 2014

Congratulations to Professor Leo Radzihovsky, who was recently named a 2014 Simons Foundation Investigator. The award was announced in July. According to the Foundation Web site, "The Simons Investigators program provides a stable base of support for outstanding scientists, enabling them to undertake long-term study of fundamental questions." Leo Radzihovsky...

Shijie Zhong Named 2014 AGU Fellow

July 30, 2014

Congratulations to Professor Shijie Zhong, who was recently elected a 2014 Fellow of the American Geophysical Union. Dr. Zhong was recognized, "for fundamental, profound, and unselfish contributions to advancing the understanding of the dynamics of the Earth, Moon, and the terrestrial planets." The announcement was made on Tuesday, July 29th...

Deborah Jin Awarded Isaac Newton Medal

July 8, 2014

Congratulations to Physics Professor and JILA Fellow Deborah Jin, who earned the prestigious 2014 Isaac Newton Medal by the Institute of Physics. The award was announced on Tuesday, July 1, 2014. The Institute of Physics is a leading international scientific society headquartered in London. The Isaac Newton award is given...