Published: Feb. 13, 2020

Dennis Perepelitsa PortraitProfessor Dennis Perepelitsa has been named a 2020 Cottrell Scholar through the Research Corporation for Scientific Advancement. The announcement was made on Monday, February 10, 2020.

According to their Web site, the Cottrell Scholar Award (CSA) "honors and helps to develop outstanding teacher-scholars who are recognized by their scientific communities for the quality and innovation of their research programs and their academic leadership skills. The Cottrell Scholar Award provides entry into a national community of outstanding scholar-educators who produce significant research and educational outcomes." The award is available to early career faculty at US and Canadian research universities and primarily undergraduate institutions. Eligible applicants are tenure-track faculty (in their third year of appointment) who hold primary or courtesy appointments in chemistry, physics, or astronomy departments that offer bachelor's and/or graduate degrees in the applicant's discipline. The award provides $100K spread over 3 years.

Professor Perepelitsa specializes in experimental nuclear physics, and his group is involved in the Heavy Ions Program at the ATLAS Experiment at the Large Hadron Collider at CERN, as well as the sPHENIX Experiment at RHIC, at Brookhaven National Laboratory. The title of Professor Perepelitsa's award-winning proposal is "Next-Generation Experimental Probes of Hot and Dense Nuclear Matter."