Published: Jan. 27, 2020

Portrait Henry Kapteyn and Margaret Murnane

View the CU Boulder Today Article

Congratulations to Physics Professors and JILA Fellows Henry Kapteyn and Margaret Murnane, who were named 2020 Franklin Institute Award Laureates in Physics. The awards were announced in a news release Monday morning, January 27, 2020.

Kapteyn and Murnane are only the second married couple to be awarded the Franklin Medal in Physics since Marie and Pierre Curie in 1909. According to the announcement, Kapteyn and Murnane were named Franklin Laureates for, "Setting records for speed, their high-intensity lasers are faster, smaller, and less expensive than ever before, making them accessible to a new generation of researchers and applications in fields ranging from electronics to medicine."

The prestigious award from The Franklin Institute in Philadelphia recognizes visionaries, who advance technology, foster innovation and serve as, "powerful role models for future generations of scientists, innovators, and leaders."