Published: Sept. 13, 2018

Congratulations to Professor and LASP Director Dan Baker, who recently won the 2018 The American Geophysical Union (AGU) William Bowie Medal. AGU’s highest honor, the William Bowie Medal, is given annually to one honoree in recognition of “outstanding contributions for fundamental geophysics and for unselfish cooperation in research.”

The William Bowie Medal was established in 1939 in honor of William Bowie for his spirit of helpfulness and friendliness in unselfish cooperative research. In addition to being the first president of AGU (1920–1922), Bowie was also the first recipient of this medal. Another notable recipient of the medal, in 1977, was James Van Allen, Baker’s mentor during his tenure at the University of Iowa.