Published: May 3, 2017

Four MCDB Alumni Elected to National Academy of SciencesThe National Academy of Sciences today announced the election of 84 new members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing research achievements. Election to the National Academy of Sciences is one of the nation’s most prestigious scientific honors.  Among the newly elected members, four are MCDB alumni:

Dominique Bergmann, professor in the department of biology at Stanford University, completed her Ph.D. in MCDB in 2000 under the mentorship of Distinguished Professor Emeritus William B. Wood.

Chris Q. Doe, an investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and professor of biology at the University of Oregon, did his postdoctoral work in MCDB with Professor Matthew Scott from 1987 to 1989.

Patrick O’Farrell, professor of biochemistry and biophysics at the University of California, San Francisco, is a 1974 Ph.D. alum from the MCDB labs of Professors Jacques Péne and David Hirsch.

James Priess, a member of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, in Seattle, Washington, received his Ph.D. in 1984 under the mentorship of MCDB Professor David Hirsch.

MCDB congratulates these and all the new members of the National Academy of Sciences!