Erin Tripp, curator of botany for the University of Colorado Museum of Natural History and assistant professor of ecology and evolutionary biology, discovered two lichen species new to science while conducting research in Boulder, near the city’s eastern limits. - See more at:

Two new species found in City of Boulder

June 29, 2015

After a day of fieldwork inventorying lichens at White Rocks Open Space, EBIO Assistant Professor Erin Tripp was walking back to her car when an unfamiliar lichen caught her eye. Later that week, Tripp spotted a second species of lichen that she suspected might also be a new species. Tripp,...

Genome Model

Innovative Courses: Genomics EBIO 4460/5460

June 15, 2015

The chloroplast, where all photosynthesis occurs in plants, is derived from ancient, free-living algae. Over the past 900 million years, however, it has lived inside of plant cells and their green algal ancestors, evolving to be an integral part of these organisms. However, each chloroplast still has it's own separate...

EBIO Professor Noah Fierer produces first atlas of airborne microbes

April 20, 2015

Dr. Noah Fierer , working in conjuction with researchers from North Carolina State University, has produced the first atlas of airborne microbes across the continental United States. The researchers collected outdoor dust samples from roughly 1,200 homes in all 50 states from both urban and rural areas using a powerful...

Noah Fierer study on fungi in flooded Boulder homes published in Enviormental Science & Technology Journal

April 8, 2015

Dr. Noah Fierer , an associate professor in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, and a fellow at the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, was inspired to study the levels of fungi and airbourne mold present in Boulder basements while walking through his south Boulder neighborhood after...

Helen McCreery wins 2015 Graduate Summer Fellowship

April 7, 2015

Helen McCreery, a graduate student with the Breed lab , was selected to receive the 2015 Graduate Summer Fellowship Award from the Graduate School. Graduate Summer Fellowship Awards are competitive awards sponsored by the Graduate School. These financial awards support the research, scholarship and creative work of graduate students from...

Kika Tarsi and Miranda Redmond win Graduate Dissertation Completion Fellowship

April 6, 2015

Kika Tarsi , a graduate student in the Davies lab , and Miranda Redmond , who is part of the Barger lab , were selected for the 2015 - 2016 Graduate School Dissertation Completion Fellowship. The Dean’s Graduate Student Research Grant Awards are competitive awards sponsored by the Graduate School...

Professor Alex Cruz wins undergraduate mentorship award

April 3, 2015

Professor Alex Cruz just found out that his contributions to undergraduate training have been recognized by his receiving an "Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor" award sponsored by the Special Undergraduate Enrichment Programs. You can read more about Dr. Cruz, and the nomination letter submitted on his behalf here . Congratulations Alex!

Three EBIO professors awarded prestigious BFA Award

April 1, 2015

This year, three EBIO professors have been awarded a BFA Excellence Award. This award is a longstanding tradition on the CU Boulder campus, and is one of the most prestigious teaching awards that can be bestowed upon a University of Colorado Boulder faculty member. This year, Professor Tim Seastedt was...

Carrie Havrilla awarded an NSF Pre-doctoral Research Fellowship

April 1, 2015

Carrie Havrilla, a graduate student with the Barger lab , has been awarded an NSF Pre-doctoral Research Fellowship to pursue her research on biological crusts. Congratulations Carrie!! Please see below for a brief synopsis of Carrie's study: The role of biocrusts in regulating dryland plant communities and exotic plant invasibility...

EBIO faculty and researchers awarded Campus Sustainability Award

March 31, 2015

We're pleased to announce that several members of the EBIO department have won Campus Sustainability Awards. Professor Becca Safran was awarded a Green Faculty Award for her film course. Carol Kearns and Diane Oliveras were awarded "Civic Achievement" sustainability awards, while Jessica Henley of the Fierer lab received a CU...