Published: Sept. 9, 2019

The National Communication Association recently recognized the work of three Department of Communication faculty with national awards.

Assistant Professor Joelle Cruz was selected to receive the National Communication Association's Orlando L. Taylor Distinguished Scholarship Award in Africana Communication.  This award “recognizes a scholar whose body of work demonstrates a sustained commitment and significant, enduring contribution to the study of African American and/or African Diaspora communication culture.”

Associate Professor Lisa Flores was recognized with two awards from the National Communication Association, including the Douglas W. Ehninger Award and the Rhetorical and Communication Theory Division Distinguished Scholar Award.

Professor Larry Frey is being named a National Communication Association Distinguished Scholar for his lifetime contributions to the field of communication. He is the seventh member of the department to receive this recognition. Previous honorees from CU include Wayne Brockriede, Jerry Hauser, John Waite Bowers, Stan Deetz, Karen Tracy and Bob Craig.