Published: Sept. 7, 2021


Up close picture of a super 8 camera lying in the grass, information stating "Student Award Showcase"On Monday September 13th, join the CU Cinema Studies department in celebrating the winners of the Grillo Awards from the Spring 2021 production courses! Come out and support your classmates and fellow filmmakers. Show starts at 7:00pm in the VAC 1B20 auditorium. Admission is Free. 

The award is made possible with funds from the Arts and Cultural Enrichment Fee. 

The Grillo awards are designed to encourage excellence in filmmaking and help defray some of the expenses required to pursue a degree in film production. A total of up to $17,000 of Grillo funds is distributed each year to four tiers of production students. Final recipients and individual award amounts will be determined each semester by in-class student votes and a panel of judges made up of CU Cinema Studies faculty and outside professionals. A selection of award-winning films will be shown one night only.

The Grillo Awards are drawn from a University of Colorado Foundation fund set up in the early 1990s by Virgil Grillo (1938-1994), the founder and former Director of the CU Film Studies Program, whose dedication and vision helped shepherd Film Studies from its modest beginnings in the 1970s to an undergraduate program with some 600 students.

Please come and join us!



CINE 2000

Section of Don Yannacito:

1st Place: Richard Simione
2nd Place: Chloe Serbu 

Section of Sarah Biagini:

1st Place: Devin Morgan
2nd Place: Gavin Salazar 

Section of Kelly Sears:

1st Place: Tyler Mohatt
2nd Place: Milo Lewon

Section of Emily Van Loan:

1st Place: Ella Gano-Wyers

2nd Place: Sarah Sheley 

CINE 2500

Section of Victor Jendras:

1st Place: Myles Aquino   Watch

2nd Place: Stella McCain   Watch

Section of Sarah Biagini:

1st Place: Estelle Sweeney

2nd Place: George Cathers

Section of J Gluckstern:

1st Place: Joe (Steven) Dombrowski  Watch

2nd Place (tie): Trevor Oman and Olivia Shea  Watch

CINE 3400

Section of J Gluckstern:

1st Place (Three-way tie): Jack Vander Veer, Cian O'Maitiu, and Yasent Oliver

Jack Vander Veer Watch

Yasent Oliver Watch

Section of Emilie Upczak:

1st Place: Emma Jacobs 

2nd Place: Finn Murray 

CINE 4500

Section of Geoff Marslett

Class A:

1st Place: Katey St. John  Watch

2nd Place: Cameron Pazol  Watch

Class B:

1st Place:  Zhuolin Hong 

2nd Place: Nalani Kikuyama  Watch