Published: Jan. 13, 2021

Spring 2021 Student Award ShowcaseGrillo showcase flyer

On February 8th, at 7:00pm, join us in celebrating the winners of the Grillo award from the Fall 2020 production courses!

Made possible with funds from the Arts and Cultural Enrichment Fee. Free admission.

The Grillo awards are designed to encourage excellence in filmmaking and help defray some of the expenses required to pursue a degree in film production. A total of up to $17,000 of Grillo funds is distributed each year to four tiers of production students. Final recipients and individual award amounts will be determined each semester by in-class student votes and a panel of judges made up of CU Cinema Studies faculty and outside professionals. A selection of award-winning films will be shown one night only.

The Grillo Awards are drawn from a University of Colorado Foundation fund set up in the early 1990s by Virgil Grillo (1938-1994), the founder and former Director of the CU Film Studies Program, whose dedication and vision helped shepherd Film Studies from its modest beginnings in the 1970s to an undergraduate program with some 600 students.

List of Winners

CINE 2000

Section of Don Yannacito:

1st Place: Myles Aquino
2nd Place: Gabriela Mehia

Section of Sarah Biagini:

1st Place: Charlie Kennedy
2nd Place: Carl Tinsley

Section of J Gluckstern:

1st Place: Cameron Hazlip
2nd Place: Anthony Padilla

Section of Emily Van Loan:

1st Place: Estelle Sweeney
2nd Place: Blake Green

Section of Laura Conway:

1st Place: Erick Chavez
2nd Place: Camilla Jimenez

CINE 2500

Section of Victor Jendras:

1st Place: Georgia Moran (tied) Watch
1st Place: Alex Beck (tied) Watch
2nd Place: Robert Coller Watch

Section of Sarah Biagini:

1st Place: Dustin Martin Watch
2nd Place: Cian O'Maitiu Watch

Section of J Gluckstern:

1st Place: Cooper Campisi Watch
2nd Place: Jack Vander Veer Watch

CINE 3400

Section of J Gluckstern:

1st Place: Ryan Oligmueller Watch
2nd Place: Garrett Mars Watch

Section of Emilie Upczak:

1st Place: Caroline Murphy Watch
2nd Place: Mitch Trahan Watch