The National Pan-Hellenic Council was founded in 1930 to serve as a governing body to the nine nationally recognized historically black fraternities and sororities.  Its purpose is to foster cooperative actions of its members in dealing with matters of mutual concern.  To this end, the NPHC promotes the well-being of its affiliate fraternities and sororities, facilitates the establishment and development of local councils of the NPHC, and provides leadership training for its constituents.

The council's purpose is to promote unity and expose members to the "service for life" philosophy and foster leadership development and scholarship among the “Divine Nine” chapters which belong to the NPHC.  Furthermore, the National Pan-Hellenic Council provides a forum for participation and interaction among the members of affiliate organizations and the organizations themselves.  It provides for a stronger unified voice and a stronger unified body.

  1. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. (1906)
  2. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. (1908)
  3. Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. (1911)
  4. Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. (1911)
  5. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. (1913)
  6. Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. (1914)
  7. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. (1920)
  8. Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. (1922)
  9. Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. (1963)

BOLD - Active Current Membership at the University of Colorado Boulder as of 5/5/2019