Current Election News

      Spring 2024 BFA Officer Elections

      Spring elections were held on Thursday, May 2nd, 2024 and all three nominees were elected to a second term of one year expiring spring 2025:

      • BFA Vice Chair - Alastair Norcross, Philosophy
      • BFA Secretary - Vicki Grove, Germanic and Slavic Literature & Languages
      • BFA Executive Committee At-Large Representative - Adam Norris, Applied Math

      AY24-25 BFA Fall Elections - Elections for seat vacancies on BFA Standing Committees are held each in September each year.  Other BFA and CU Faculty Council seat vacancies as noted will be included during this time. The nomination and election process for these seats has two phases - internal (only open to BFA representatives) and external (open to all Boulder faculty senate members). For more information on BFA committees, please see the individual committee of interest or contact

      BFA 2024 Spring At-Large Assembly Representative Elections 

      Elections for BFA Assembly At-Large Representatives occur each year during February and March. Assembly At-Large Representative seats are open to all eligible campus faculty and are voted on by the full faculty senate. See Becoming a Member for more information on what is entailed in serving as a BFA At-large Assembly representative. All terms are for three years.  Non-A&S units include: Leeds School of Business, College of Engineering, College of Media, Communication, and Information (CMCI), CU Law, School of Education, Campus Libraries, Environmental Design, and the College of Music. Elections concluded on Friday, March 15th.

      Please join us in congratulating the following new BFA Assembly At-Large Representatives:

      • Ernesto Acevedo Muñoz, Professor - Cinema Studies & Moving Image Arts
      • Bobby Benim, Assistant Teaching Professor – Applied Mathematics
      • Caitlin Charlet, Associate Teaching Professor – Environmental Design
      • Michaele Ferguson, Associate Professor – Political Science
      • Victoria Hand, Associate Professor – School of Education
      • Catherine Kunce, Associate Teaching Professor - Program for Writing & Rhetoric
      • Carmen Pacheco, Scholar in Residence - Mechanical Engineering
      • Markus Pflaum, Professor - Mathematics
      • David Quigley, Assistant Teaching Professor – Computer Science
      • Ted Shear, Assistant Teaching Professor - Philosophy