Fellowships in Professional Societies

American Association for the Advancement of Science

  • Cora Randall

American Meteorological Society

  • John Hart
  • O. Brian Toon
  • Peter Pilewskie 2018

American Geophysical Union

  • Cora Randall
  • O. Brian Toon

Academic and Research Excellence

  • Nicole Lovenduski: 2018 NSF Career Award
  • Julie Lundquist: 2018 Graduate School's Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award
  • Kristopher Karnauskas: 2017 AGU Ocean Scientists early Career Award
  • Jan Lenaerts: 2017 AGU Cryosphere Early Career Award
  • Cora Randall:  2017 Boulder Faculty Assembly Excellence Award
  • Jen Kay: 2016 American Meteorological Society's annual "Henry G. Houghton" award
  • Jen Kay: 2016 National Science Foundation CAREER Award
  • Julie Lundquist: 2016 National Science Foundation CAREER Award
  • Darin Toohey: Served as Faculty of the Game on Saturday, November 1, 2014.  Link to video that appeared on Buff Vision during the game. Click here to view the video.
  • Julie Lundquist: 2013 American Wind Energy Association, Women of Wind Energy Rising Star
  • Darin Toohey: 2013 Recognized by the United Nations Environment Programme Ozone Secretariat “for valuable contributions and efforts in the Scientific Assessment Panel”. This service is essential to the scientific community’s role in meeting provisions of the 1987 Montreal Protocol, and as the award states, “Protecting our atmosphere for generations to come”.
  • Brian Toon: 2013 CU Boulder Distinguished Research Lecturer
  • David Noone: 2012 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) “for innovative use of stable isotope tracers and modeling efforts directed towards an integrated understanding of the cycling of water and carbon dioxide through the atmosphere, and for actively engaging students in cutting-edge research at middle schools.”
  • Darin Toohey: 2011, Jefferson Science Fellow, US Department of State
  • Baylor Fox-Kemper: AGU’s 2011 Early Career Ocean Sciences Award
  • Brian Toon: 2011, Roger Revelle Medal
  • David Noone: 2010 National Science Foundation CAREER Award
  • Weiqing Han: 2009, National Science Foundation CAREER Award
  • Linnea Avallone: 2003, NASA Group Achievement Award “for the Cirrus Regional Study of Tropical Anvils and Cirrus Layers – Florida Area Cirrus Experiment (CRYSTAL-FACE)”
  • John Hart: 2003, First Place Award: Weatherwise Magazine photography contest for best image of an atmospheric phenomenon.
  • O. Brian Toon: 2003, NASA Group Achievement Award, for “outstanding accomplishments and contributions to the extremely successful Cirrus Regional Study of Tropical Anvils and Cirrus Layers-Florida Area Cirrus Experiment”
  • O. Brian Toon: 2002, Highly Cited Researchers Award, ISI Thomson Scientific for being “one of the most highly cited, influential researchers in Geosciences”
  • Linnea Avallone: 2001, National Aeronautics and Space Administration Group Achievement Award (SOLVE)
  • Frank Evans: 2001, Henry G. Houghton Award, the American Meteorological Society, “for perceptive conceptual advances in theory, measurement, and three-dimensional modeling of radiative transfer in cloudy skies”
  • Linnea Avallone: 2000, Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)
  • Linnea Avallone: 1999, National Science Foundation CAREER Award
  • John Hart: 1997, Verner E. Suomi Award, the American Meteorological Society, “for fundamental contributions to meteorology and oceanography through innovative laboratory studies of geophysical fluids.”
  • Linnea Avallone: 1996, Environmental Protection Agency Early Career Award
  • Frank Evans: 1996, NASA New Investigator Award
  • John Hart: 1995, N.S.F. Special Creativity Award for laboratory studies of rotating stratified fluids
  • Darin Toohey: 1993, NASA Group Achievement Award, SPADE Campaign
  • Darin Toohey: 1992, National Science Foundation, Young Investigator Award
  • Darin Toohey: 1989, NASA Group Achievement Award, AASE Campaign
  • O. Brian Toon: 1989, NASA medal for Exceptional Scientific Achievement for research on the ozone hole
  • Darin Toohey: 1987, Procter and Gamble Award, American Chemical Society, Division of Physical Chemistry
  • John Hart: 1986, N.A.S.A. Special Achievement Award for successful flight of the Geosphyical Fluid Flow Cell experiment on the space shuttle Challenger
  • O. Brian Toon: 1985, Leo Szilard Award for Physics in the Public Interest, the American Physical Society, for research on nuclear winter
  • O. Brian Toon: 1983, NASA medal for Exceptional Scientific Achievement for studies of the climates of Earth and the planets