Published: April 17, 2024

Twenty-three students receive one of college's highest honors, recognized for academic achievement and depth of service

The College of Arts and Sciences has awarded the Jacob Van Ek Scholarship—one of the college’s highest honors—to 23 exceptional undergraduates.

The award is named for Jacob Van Ek (1896-1999), who arrived at CU as a young assistant professor shortly after earning his doctorate in 1925 at what is now known as Iowa State University. Within three years, he was a full professor and, by 1929, he was dean of the College of Liberal Arts, serving until 1959. 

The following students are this year’s Jakob Van Ek Scholar Award recipients:

  • Emily Aguirre, English/Spanish
  • Simon Bantugan, Geology
  • Seleny Banuelas, BFA Ceramics/BA Spanish
  • Aaron Barrios, Physics/Astronomy/Math
  • Mariana Bastias, English/Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Auburn Berry, Integrative Physiology
  • Blanca Cerda, Neuroscience
  • Rachel Coppock, Anthropology
  • Sarah Coronna, Anthropology
  • Adriana Espinoza, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
  • Samantha Haygood, Philosophy and Sociology
  • Lucas Hendricks, Chinese
  • Taylor Johnson, Philosophy
  • Emma Judge, Biochemistry
  • Samantha Lane, Sociology
  • Isabella (Bella) Malherbe, Art History
  • Grant Mannino, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Miles Moore, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Rumi Natanzi, Ethnic Studies
  • Callie Noar, Integrative Physiology
  • Alexandra Plocki, Physics
  • Hayley Thomas, International Affairs
  • Grace Tuzizila, Integrative Physiology