The Boulder Campus leave benefits can be found on the campus Human Resources website. Leave usage by Classified Employees is governed by the State of Colorado, Department of Personnel's Personnel Board Rules and Personnel Director's Administrative Procedures. The information found on this college site is for summary reference only. Please be sure to consult the campus Human Resources website for detailed policy information and guidance.
Types of Leave
Administrative leave must be granted in certain situations per state personnel board rules and may be granted a the discretion of the appointing authority in other situations. Please refer to administrative leave guidelines for classified employees.
Annual leave is for an employee’s personal needs and use is subject to the approval of the appointing authority.
|Years of Service||Hours/Month||Maximum|
Bereavement leave provides up to 40 hours (pro-rated for part-time work or unpaid leave in the month) at the discretion of the appointing authority.
Family Medical Leave
Family Medical Leave provides eligible employees with up to 13 weeks (520 hours) of Family Medical Leave during a rolling 12 month period, measured backwards from the day they use Family Medical Leave for the following reasons:
- The birth and care of a newborn child (for an employee who has pregnancy status and is not eligible for Family Medical Leave, the employee may be entitled to leave as an accommodation under the Colorado pregnancy law);
- The placement and care of a child from adoption or foster care;
- To care for a spouse, civil union partner or domestic partner, child, or parent with a serious health condition;
- An employee’s own serious health condition;
- Active duty family leave for qualifying exigency directly related to, being called to, or on active duty for a contingency operation; or
- Up to 26 weeks (1,040 hours) in a single 12-month period for military caregiver leave for a service member who is seriously ill or injured in the line of duty while on active duty.
Procedures for Requesting Family Medical Leave
Procedures for Fitness to Return Certification
- Campus Human Resources' Family Medical Leave Act Coordinator sends employee Fitness to Return form one week prior to expected return date as documented in the Designation Notice with cc: to supervisor.
- Staff member provides the Fitness To Return Certification to medical provider for completion and submits to the Campus Human Resources' Family Medical Leave Act Coordinator and Supervisor.
- Campus Human Resources Family Medical Leave Act Coordinator reviews Fitness to Return Certification and determines employee's eligibility to return to work.
- If employee is eligible to return with no restrictions, employee returns to work and Campus Human Resources' Family Medical Leave Act Coordinator notifies College of Arts and Sciences Human Resources Service Center and closes case.
- If employee is eligible to return with restrictions, Campus Human Resources' Employee Relations/Family Medical Leave Consultant works with unit and the Americans with Disabilities Act office regarding needed accommodations.
- If employee is ineligible to return and Family Medical Leave has not been exhausted, employee will need to provide an updated Medical Certification.
Holiday leave provides permanent full-time employees on the payroll when the holiday is observed with eight hours of paid holiday leave (pro-rated for part-time work or unpaid leave in the month) to observe ten designated holidays per the University calendar.
Jury leave provides permanent (non-temporary) employees with paid leave for the term of the jury duty. Temporary employees receive paid leave for a maximum of three days.
Military leave provides paid leave for up to 15 working days in a fiscal year for permanent (non-temporary) employees. Unpaid leave is granted after the exhaustion of the 15 workdays up to the maximum allowed by law.
On-the-Job Injury Leave
On-the-job injury leave provides up to 90 occurrences of paid leave for an employee who suffers an injury or illness compensable under the Workers' Compensation Act.
- In addition to the six months of unpaid parental leave, the Boulder campus will provide 240 hours of paid parental, prorated for percent of time if appointment is less than 100%, to eligible employees. University staff may also use sick and vacation accruals.
- If an employee terminates from the university within 30 days of completing parental leave, the university reserves the right to collect the amount provided under the university paid parental leave program.
- For employees experiencing a birth, adoption or foster care placement that occurred between January 1, 2018 and June 30, 2018, and has not exhausted the full six months of unpaid parental leave, the employee will be eligible for the 240 hours of paid parental leave. The amount of paid leave is capped by the six months entitlement within the twelve month deadline.
- There will be no retroactive payment for parental leave taken prior to July 1, 2018.
- The structure of the leave, block or intermittent, is based on supervisor discretion.
- Section II.A.3 will be removed from policy on July 1, 2019.
- All other terms and conditions for eligibility, definitions, and usage of the APS 5019 remain unchanged.
- Human Resources manages leave for this population.
Parental Academic Leave
Parental academic leave provides up to 18 hours (pro-rated for part-time) in an academic year for parents or legal guardians to participate in academic related activities.
Short Term Disability Leave
Short Term Disability leave provides up to six months of job-protected leave, including the 30 day waiting period, for employees with at least one year of state service while short term disability insurance benefit payments are being made. For questions regarding how to submit and/or complete an application, or if you have questions about disability benefits, please contact Employee Services at 303-860-4200.
Sick leave is for health reasons only, including diagnostic and preventative examinations, treatment, and recovery. Accrued sick leave may be used for the health needs of the employee, employee’s child who is under the age of 18 or an adult child who is disabled, parents, spouse, injured military service member or veteran as established with State Personnel Rules, legal dependent, or a person in the household for whom the employee is the primary care giver. The appointing authority may require documentation of the familial relationship. Full-time employees accrue leave at 6.66 hours per month, for a maximum accrual of 360 hours (45 days).
The State of Colorado Medical Information Form is to be completed and signed by a health care provider for use of non-FMLA qualifying sick leave in excess of three (3) consecutive workdays.
Unpaid leave may be approved at the discretion of the appointing authority unless otherwise prohibited. Probationary and trial service periods are extended by the number of days on unpaid leave. Employees must exhaust all applicable paid leave before being placed on unpaid leave.
Victim Protection League
Victim protection leave provides employees who have exhausted sick and annual leave with up to 24 hours (pro-rated for part-time employees) of unpaid leave, per fiscal year, for victims of stalking, sexual assault, domestic abuse, or violence.
Procedures for Requesting Leave
Leave requests are made via MyLeave, which is accessed via the Portal. A Step-by-Step Guide for setting preferences and submitting time in MyLeave can be downloaded from the University of Colorado website.
Leave Balances When Terminating, Transferring, or Reinstating
For detailed information pertaining to leave balances when terminating, transferring, or reinstating, please refer to the Human Resources website.